Michael and Christie

Married Since: 2004

Pets: Yes

Stay at Home Parent: Part-Time

Other Adopted Children at Home: No

Other Biological Children at Home: No

For someone to allow us to adopt their child to share our love with and grow together, would be the most wonderful thing that anyone could ever do for us.

Michael and Christie

from Indiana

Michael

Ancestry: German

Religion: Not Religious

Occupation: Die Maintenance

Education: High School

Hobbies: Fishing, Hunting, Gardening

Christie

Ancestry: American

Religion: Jehovahs-Witness

Occupation: Certified Massage Therapist

Education: High School

Hobbies: Flowers, Fishing, Animals

Baby

Preferred Ethnicity of Baby: All Races / Ethnicities

Preferred Gender of Baby: Either

Religion Child To Be Raised: Jehovahs-Witness

Photos

Dear Expectant Mom,

We are so excited to have begun the process that will make our family complete and happier than ever. We appreciate that you are taking the time to read our story and possibly consider taking this journey with us. We can’t imagine what you must be feeling right now. What we are sure of, is that to consider adoption for your baby, you must have so much love for him or her. We look forward to sharing the love that only a parent can know, with our child’s birth mom. We are also excited to share with your child their story of how they came to us. You would be such a big part of that story. We hope that pictures, letters, and phone calls that we would share with you would help bring you some comfort and peace in making the difficult decision you are facing.

Here’s our story! We met at our place of employment. Mike was in tool and die maintenance and I (Christie) was a press operator. We both noticed how hard a worker the other was, but we really got to know each other when I would break the dies and Mike would come to the rescue and fix them. Not much has changed there, now it just works that way at home! We started dating and almost instantly felt like a family of 4, which included my 2 girls. We were married only 4 months later. Mike was such a wonderful dad to the girls that he eventually adopted them. Mike is still working in tool and die and I am running my own business out of our home, which allows me to be flexible to take care of family needs. Our daughters are out on their own now, but looking forward to lots of visits with a new brother or sister. They are super excited about being big sistera and helping take care of a new baby.

We have tried on our own to have a baby since the beginning of our marriage, and have tried with the help of a fertility doctor twice with no success. We are looking forward to making our family complete through the adoption process. For someone to allow us to adopt their child to share our love with and grow together, would be the most wonderful thing that anyone could ever do for us. We hope to give you the comfort of knowing how much your child would be loved and cared for not only by our family of four, but also by grandparents, aunts and uncles, cousins, and many close friends.

We live in a rural area with a few neighbors, and lots of surrounding farmland. We love to be outside. We enjoy spending a long day at either the nearby river or lake fishing, swimming, kayaking, or hiking, or a long weekend in the Smokey Mountains. Sometimes it’s nice to hang out at home watching movies or cooking out on the grill and spending a quiet evening on the porch swing. We also have many pets that we enjoy spending time with.

Thank you so much for taking the time to get to know a little about us. We hope to get to know you too.

Best wishes for you and baby,
Mike and Christie

Q&A

Tell us about your home.

We live in a quiet, rural, modest neighborhood away from any major traffic. We have farmland in front and behind us. There are small kids right next door. Our neighbors are very friendly and always willing to help if needed.

When you have a 3-day weekend, what do you like to do?

We enjoy spending a long weekend in Kentucky visiting family or in the Smokey Mountains enjoying the views. Sometimes we will spend it at the nearby lake fishing, camping, hiking, swimming, and riding horses. At times we enjoy spending it at home just hanging out watching movies and playing games.

Do you have pets? If so tell us about them.

We have had Chelsea the longest. She is a 9-year-old Pekinese mix. She is so cute. Millie is our 70 pound, 5-year-old shepherd mix that, if given a chance, will be in your lap cuddling with her head on your chest. Lucy is our newest puppy. She's a growing ball of energy. She's really smart too! All of them are really friendly. Our cat, Simba, is a big baby and Cookie is frisky and silly. Fred the ferret is playful and lots of fun. He even plays with the dogs. It's wonderful to wake up to our Australian Doves that make beautiful sounds.

What do you hope to teach your children?

The most important things we want to teach our children is to be caring, respectful, thankful, and loving people that can be productive and happy with their choices in life.

What will you tell your child about his or her birthmom?

Honesty is very important in any relationship, so we will be telling our child what we know about their birth family as maturity allows for understanding of certain details. Anything that she is willing to share with us will be kept for her child to know. We don't want him or her to ever feel like there were any secrets kept from them. We feel the more trust and understanding there is between all of us, the more he or she can understand that he or she came to us out of love on the part of the birth family and adopted family.

Are you active in your church?

Christie and daughter Cynthia attend and participate in congregation meetings 2 times a week and participate in our ministry, bible education work weekly. Mike occasionally attends congregation meetings and is very supportive of Cynthia and me in our congregation activities.

How will a child enrich your life?

This opportunity to have another child will give Mike and me the chance to raise a child from birth together as a couple. This is what we have wanted for so long. We will be able to share the love that we have been holding on to for the child that we have not been able to have. Our family will be complete.

What did you do on your last vacation?

Our family of 4 along with Christie's parents, brother, and sister- in- law went to the Smokey Mountains. We enjoyed several days together. We went sightseeing in the mountains, took a ride on the ski lift, went to the aquarium, and the comedy barn, and ate out. In the evenings we enjoyed staying at the cabin playing pool and cards.

Will you be a stay-at-home parent? If so, what are your day-to-day plans?

I, Christie, work part-time at home and will continue to do so with Cynthia and grandparents babysitting. Being able to work from home will allow me to enjoy time with your baby between clients. Your child will be involved in reading time, games, play time, learning activities, playing with pets, ministry, and even cooking.

When you close your eyes and see yourself holding your precious baby in your arms, what are your thoughts regarding his or her birth mother?

We are so thankful for her to give us the opportunity to make our family complete. We literally could not do it without her. She must have so much love for her baby to make such an unselfish decision. She is incredible to carry, protect, and get to know this baby for 9 months, and then make the choice to give her baby the gift of a life she feels she can't, and to give a couple like us the gift of a life that they could not have on their own.

Message Michael and Christie

  • Date Format: MM slash DD slash YYYY

Contact Michael and Christie

  • Date Format: MM slash DD slash YYYY

Contact Us

Get your Free Adoption Packet

  • Date Format: MM slash DD slash YYYY

We respect your privacy. View our Privacy Policy.

We respect your privacy. View our Privacy Policy.

Speak with a Specialist 1-800-367-2367