Guillaume and Samantha

Married Since: 2011

Pets: Yes

Stay at Home Parent: No

Other Adopted Children at Home: No

Other Biological Children at Home: No

We want to begin by expressing our absolute gratitude for you and your brave decision. We have not met yet, but you are in our thoughts often as we dream about who you are, what our family will look like, and how we will raise your child if you choose us.

Guillaume and Samantha

from California

 

Guillaume

Ancestry: French

Religion: Nonpracticing

Occupation: Senior Scientist

Education: PhD

Hobbies: Mountaineering, Search & rescue

Samantha

Ancestry: Western European

Religion: Nonpracticing

Occupation: Psychotherapist

Education: MA

Hobbies: Knitting, Yoga, Hiking

Baby

Preferred Ethnicity of Baby: All Races / Ethnicities

Preferred Gender of Baby: Either

Religion Child To Be Raised: Nonpracticing

Photos

Dear Expectant Mother,

Thank you for taking the time to look at our profile. We are glad you like our faces. We want to begin by expressing our absolute gratitude for you and your brave decision. We have not met yet, but you are in our thoughts often as we dream about who you are, what our family will look like, and how we will raise your child if you choose us. We cannot understand what you are going through but we hope to be a support and a place where you feel comfortable, cared for, and respected. Your child will be loved.

For us, the adoption process is wholly bittersweet. We attempted to conceive for three years before we began medical testing to see if there was something wrong, which there was. Unbeknownst to us, we are both infertile and cannot produce our own children under any circumstances. This led us to adoption. We have wanted to expand our family for many years and believe this is the right path for us. Becoming parents will allow us to see the world through your child’s eyes, and give us a greater sense of purpose for the life we are living.

We are a multinational couple. Guillaume was born and raised in a suburb outside of Paris, France. Guillaume grew up in a densely urban and multicultural community, allowing him to experience much of the world by stepping outside of his front door. Samantha was born and raised in a very rural area of California, participating in things like 4-H and raising animals. We bring a varied and adaptable background to help guide and teach your child many things. We now live in Northern CA in a fairly urban area, but still have a backyard to garden in. We work hard every day to care for each other, our home, and our family.

We want our child to have dual citizenship (USA and France) and to also speak French so they can play and bond with their future cousins who are already learning English. All of Guillaume’s family lives in France so our family will be visiting often. We intend to send your child to a French immersion school that is close to our home and attend a French High school so that they have the option to go to university in Europe if they so choose. We want to raise your child to be a global citizen who is able to shift between cultures as needed. We love to travel and be in nature and we intend to raise your child with the same values.

We are very excited about creating traditions with your child, honoring her/his ancestry, and creating a family culture. Samantha loves to celebrate the holidays and is very excited about having a child to celebrate with, from trick or treating to what to serve Christmas morning, Samantha can’t wait. Guillaume is ready to teach your child how to hike, camp, and rock climb, taking them in the outdoors often, and in as many countries as possible.

From the child to the adult they will become, we hope that you will feel that you absolutely made the right decision in making an adoption plan with us for your child. We already know they will be an extraordinary person and we are eager to meet them.

Sincerely,
Guillaume & Samantha

Q&A

How did you meet?

We met as complete strangers at a Jason Mraz concert in California. Samantha was attending the concert with her girl friend and Guillaume was alone. At the very beginning, we saw each other and smiled. He then made the choice to sit closer. At some point, the band asked the audience to introduce ourselves to those around us and Guillaume took the opportunity to introduce himself. We then spent the concert interacting with each other. By the end of the night, Samantha decided she was not interested. When Guillaume asked for her number she decided the best way to put him off was to tell him that if he wanted her number he would have to go skydiving with her (she already had a trip all planned out). Much to her shock… he agreed and gave her his number! She texted him the next day and he invited her to dinner. We went on a few dates and by the time we went skydiving we were officially dating. We got married about a year and a half later in our friend’s backyard. That concert was 11 years ago. We have traveled to Asia, North Africa, Europe, explored California, moved multiple times, completed graduate school, changed careers, bought a house, and decided to expand our family over the years. We still love to travel, explore, camp, hike, and watch TV. Humor is an important part of our relationship and we enjoy spending time with others. We are devoted to each other and work hard on loving, supporting, and strengthening our relationship every day.

Tell us about your home and neighborhood.

We live in Northern California on a small residential street with a mix of long-time residents and young families. Our house is 98 years old and is a three-bedroom, one bath. We were lucky enough to have a wonderful 20-year-old avocado tree in the back yard and deep red roses planted long before we moved in.

When you have a 3-day weekend, what you like to do?

We like to spend time outdoors as much as we can. When we have a three day weekend we like to go camping, backpacking and/or spend time with friends. We have found that spending time in nature is balancing for us and helps reduce our stress so it is something we like to do as often as we can.

Do you have pets? If so, tell us about them.

We have one pet, a 16-year-old cat named Gypsy. She is a mixed gray color called a “muted tortoiseshell” or “muted torti” for short. She is playful, likes affection, and loves food. She thoroughly enjoys our backyard, exploring and chasing bugs. She recently discovered she can climb the avocado tree!

What do you hope to teach your child(ren)?

We hope to teach your child many things and we are excited to see what your child will teach us. One thing that is important to us is to honor the culture of your child as well as our own. Guillaume is French and we intend to teach your child to speak the language and have dual citizenship with France and the USA. We also hope to encourage empathy and critical thinking in your child so they are prepared to be an active citizen.

What will you tell your child about his or her Birth Mom?

We will tell your child that their Birth Parents made a difficult decision full of love to have us care for their child in the ways they couldn’t provide at the time. Mostly, we want to make sure that they know they are loved and the decision for their adoption was made with the very best intentions.

How will a child enrich your life?

Children are the ultimate commitment. We hope that as we raise your child, we get to see the world through fresh eyes, spark the excitement of discovery, fill our house with laughter and memories, and give us a chance to be silly again. As they grow older, we hope to become their harbor, the shoulder they know will always be there to lean on. The part of us that is wild, open, and curious gets shut down by life some times, and as much as we will encourage your child to embrace all that they are, we hope that experiencing parenthood will push us to always reconnect to our inner adventurous joyful child.

Describe your last vacation and/or day trip.

We were very lucky to celebrate our 10 year anniversary of when we met by taking a vacation to Maui. Neither of us had been there before. We rented an old 1989 VW camper van and set up camp in multiple locations throughout the island, hiked, ate good food, and then ended with a few beach days to relax. We even managed to find time for some tandem paragliding over the Haleakala National Park, and some zip lining in West Maui. We love to travel, explore new places, and immerse ourselves in local culture.

Will you be returning to work? If so, describe your day-care plans.

Both of us intend to head back to work after using all of the permitted time off. We are planning to use some local friends for babysitting and hiring an Au Pair. An Au Pair is a live-in nanny that is from a foreign country. We want to have a French Au Pair to support language development in our child prior to them attending school.

When you close your eyes and see yourself holding your precious baby in your arms, what are your thoughts regarding his or her birth mother?

We think our feelings will be complicated. There will be joy and excitement that we have been able to expand our family. Gratitude for a mother blessing us with a child we have wanted for so long. And sadness for the loss that the birth mother and child will experience in their life due to the adoption.

Message Guillaume and Samantha

  • Date Format: MM slash DD slash YYYY
  • Hi, We are honored that you are considering us! Lisa, our adoption specialist at Adoption Network, will be reaching out to make sure your needs are being met and your questions about adoption are being answered. She will help us get in touch with each other. We can’t wait to connect with you!

Contact Guillaume and Samantha

  • Date Format: MM slash DD slash YYYY
  • Hi, We are honored that you are considering us! Lisa, our adoption specialist at Adoption Network, will be reaching out to make sure your needs are being met and your questions about adoption are being answered. She will help us get in touch with each other. We can’t wait to connect with you!

Contact Us

Get your Free Adoption Packet

  • Date Format: MM slash DD slash YYYY

We respect your privacy. View our Privacy Policy.

We respect your privacy. View our Privacy Policy.

Speak with a Specialist 1-800-367-2367