Daniel and Gretchen

Married Since: 2015

Pets: Yes

Stay at Home Parent: No

Other Adopted Children at Home: No

Other Biological Children at Home: No

You are strong. You are brave. You are a beautiful human being. No matter what you decide, we wish you peace and happiness.

Daniel and Gretchen

from Pennsylvania

Daniel

Ancestry: German, Irish

Religion: Christian

Occupation: Senior Veterinary Technician

Education: AS

Hobbies: Computers, Gaming, Biking, Camping

Gretchen

Ancestry: Scotch-Irish, Italian, English, German

Religion: Spiritual

Occupation: Medical Laboratory Technologist

Education: BS

Hobbies: Hiking, Camping, Music, Yoga

Baby

Preferred Ethnicity of Baby: Caucasian, Caucasian / Hispanic, Caucasian / Indian, Caucasian / Middle Eastern, Caucasian / Native American, Caucasian / Pacific Islander, Hispanic, Hispanic / Middle Eastern, Hispanic / Native American, Hispanic / Pacific Islander, Indian, Middle Eastern, Pacific Islander, Native American Indian

Preferred Gender of Baby: Either

Religion Child To Be Raised: Spiritual

Photos

Dear Expectant Mother,

Hello! Our names are Gretchen and Daniel, and we’re from beautiful Pennsylvania. We’re very happy that you’re reading our letter and are beyond grateful for the opportunity to introduce ourselves to you. We can’t pretend to understand just what you are going through, but can only imagine how difficult and painful this decision must be for you.

We have been together for eight years and love spending time together sharing experiences and making each other laugh. We have always known that we wanted to have a family, and we are now ready to begin building that family through adoption. If you choose us as parents, please know that your sweet baby will be unconditionally loved. We will raise your child in a home where caring and kindness are expressed, where exploration and curiosity are encouraged, and where diversity and new ideas are celebrated. He or she will never have to be afraid to be exactly who they want to be and will always be encouraged to follow their heart.

We both love spending time outdoors and exploring nature. Going on camping trips is one of our favorite things to do together. To us, there’s something so special and refreshing about getting away to the woods for a few days. We also enjoy taking local hiking and biking trips, and exploring the city together. We are members of the zoo and can often be found there visiting our favorite animals. A shared passion of ours is music, and we love introducing each other to different bands and seeing live shows together. We share our home with two darling little dogs, Nina and Ciri. They are both such sweethearts and are very gentle and patient with kids. We also have several cats that are always looking for a warm lap to curl up on.

A year ago we began opening our home to children in the foster care system. This has had a major impact on our lives and perceptions of the world. We have had the privilege of fostering two siblings, ages six and eight, and also a newborn. Together we have shared the joys and challenges of sharing our lives with children who come from incredibly difficult circumstances. These experiences have strengthened our relationship immensely and shown us that we always have each other to lean on when things get difficult. It is our hope that we have made a difference, even if it is a small one, in the way these kids view their self-worth.

We are both so excited to welcome a son or daughter into our home! We are looking forward to the pitter patter of tiny toddler feet, cozy nights on the couch, family dance parties in the living room, and bedtime stories. We can’t wait to show them the wonders of nature through camping and hiking trips, spending time at our local park that is right down the street, and discovering all of the crazy creatures at the zoo. We’re also very excited to help them explore their interests and become who they want to be. Our families are very eager to welcome the newest member of the pack. Our nieces and nephew are thrilled that they will be able to introduce their favorite games to their new cousin.

We want your child to know their adoption story and to understand what you sacrificed because of the incredible love that you have for them. One of our favorite family quotes is “To our children we give two things. One is roots and the other is wings.” You are forever the deepest part of your child’s roots, and we will remember that always.

You are strong. You are brave. You are a beautiful human being. No matter what you decide, we wish you peace and happiness.

With Love,
Gretchen and Daniel

Q&A

Tell us about your home and neighborhood.

Our home is located in a suburb in Pennsylvania. It is a multilevel house with a large rec room in the finished basement and plenty of space for raising a family. Our mostly private and fenced in back yard is a place where we like to either relax or run around with our dogs, Nina and Ciri. The neighborhood is in a very quiet area with friendly neighbors and many children. There is a nearby park that we walk to that has a large playground, basketball and tennis courts, a hiking trail, and a dog park. We love that our neighborhood is located in a forested area, but we are also so close to everything that the city has to offer.

What do you hope to teach your child(ren)?

We hope to teach our children to treat everyone with kindness and to be brave and speak up for those who can’t. Honesty and empathy are foundations we hope to encourage. We want them to know that the world is a wonderfully diverse place and what makes everyone different should be celebrated and embraced. We want to help them explore and find the wonder and marvel in everyday life.

Describe your last vacation and/or day trip

For our last vacation, we spent a week in Florida, where Gretchen’s parents own a condo. Most of our time we spent on the beach relaxing, swimming in the ocean, or walking the hiking trails in the nearby state park. We also went kayaking through a mangrove swamp and saw dozens of tiny mangrove crabs scurrying all over the trees! Later, we rode bikes on the biking trail into a nearby small town where we had some amazing sea food. There is also a primate sanctuary nearby that we visit every trip, and we have the opportunity to feed the monkeys. In the evenings we would get ice cream and watch the sunset over the ocean.

Will you be returning to work? If so, describe your day-care plans.

Gretchen will be taking leave from work for the first six weeks and Daniel will be taking leave for the first four. We are so excited that will have the opportunity to be at home and bond with the little one continuously for this time. When we return to work, the baby will be in a daycare three days each week. After touring and interviewing several day-cares nearby, we have chosen the one that we feel has the best staff and programs to enrich a child’s first years. Gretchen’s parents have generously volunteered to take care of the baby for two days each week. They are thrilled to be able to spend so much time with him or her. We are delighted that the baby will have the opportunity both to socialize with other children at daycare and also spend time at home with Gretchen’s parents.

When you close your eyes and see yourself holding your precious baby in your arms, what are your thoughts regarding his or her birth mother?

We are honored that she has chosen us to care for and raise her child. We will do all that we can to help the baby grow into a kind and caring person that she would be very proud of. We would want her to know that her child will be unconditionally loved no matter what life throws at them. We will also always be thinking of his or her birth mother, and hoping that she is in a place where she is surrounded by love and support.

What religion do you plan on raising your child?

Daniel is Christian and Gretchen was raised as Christian, but now considers herself to be a spiritual person. Gretchen believes that there is a spiritual element to our world and that there is some kind of higher power. Daniel’s main Christian belief is to live your life according to the example set by Jesus. We both believe in living with kindness and compassion towards others, and this is the common ground between our two faiths. We plan on raising our child based on those foundations, and they will be free and encouraged to explore and develop their own religious beliefs if they choose.

Message Daniel and Gretchen

  • Date Format: MM slash DD slash YYYY

Contact Daniel and Gretchen

  • Date Format: MM slash DD slash YYYY

Contact Us

Get your Free Adoption Packet

  • Date Format: MM slash DD slash YYYY

We respect your privacy. View our Privacy Policy.

We respect your privacy. View our Privacy Policy.

Speak with a Specialist 1-800-367-2367