David and Anna

Married Since: 2014

Pets: Yes

Stay at Home Parent: Part-Time

Other Adopted Children at Home: No

Other Biological Children at Home: No

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to introduce ourselves to you. Our hope is that if you choose us, you will do so with the assurance that your child would be embraced by our unconditional love.

David and Anna

from Minnesota

David

Ancestry: Scottish, Irish, German

Religion: Episcopal

Occupation: Composer, Conductor, Publisher

Education: MMus

Hobbies: Biking, Cooking, Baking, Guitar, Yoga

Anna

Ancestry: Chinese, English, Norwegian, German, Irish

Religion: Episcopal

Occupation: Priest, Picture book author, Speaker

Education: MA

Hobbies: Walking, Sewing, Reading, Entertaining

Baby

Preferred Ethnicity of Baby: All Races / Ethnicities

Preferred Gender of Baby: Either

Religion Child To Be Raised: Episcopal

Photos

Dear Expectant Mother,

We realize that we are meeting you at one of most difficult moments of your life. We can’t pretend to understand everything that you are feeling, but we know that the decision you are contemplating is grounded in deep love for your child. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to introduce ourselves to you. Our hope is that if you choose us, you will do so with the assurance that your child would be embraced by our unconditional love.

When the two of us started dreaming about our future together, we envisioned creating a home like the ones that we grew up in: full of children, faith, music, and wonder. We imagined frequent visits by family and friends, whom David would feed with home-cooked meals. We imagined impromptu dance breaks in the kitchen. We imagined reading our children to sleep at night from our well-loved library. We imagined raising our children not only to know our love, but God’s as well, and teaching them to respect every human being. Because David’s infertility makes it unfeasible for us to have biological children, adoption was always a part of this dream.

We met while working at the same church. We soon discovered a shared passion for travel, food, and children’s picture books. We have since traveled quite a bit together: by car, plane, boat, bus, gondola, and camel. We are adventurous eaters, and delight in exploring new cultures through their kitchens. Our children’s book library has continued to grow, including Anna’s first picture book. And, we end every day reading out loud to each other.

We have also learned how to navigate the mundane and the difficult parts of life. Together we have been through the loss and gaining of jobs, the death of pets, major house renovation, and becoming business partners as well as spouses. As a result, we have learned to understand and appreciate the differing gifts that each of us brings to the family, and how to tackle the challenges of life as a team. We are ready to bring these gifts to the adventure of parenthood. We want to share what we know and love about the world and discover it anew through a child’s eyes.

A child that joins our family will instantly be embraced by a large, widespread, diverse, and affectionate host of relatives, all of whom are eager to welcome their newest addition. Many dozens of cousins, aunts, uncles, and grandparents will be a part of your baby’s daily life from their first day at home. Your child will always know their love, and we will teach them about your love, as well.

We thank you again for making this adoption plan and for considering us. We send you our warmest wishes and highest regard.

With love,
Anna & David

Q&A

Tell us about your home and neighborhood.

We live in a delightful, safe, and friendly neighborhood where we know most of our neighbors and their dogs by name. We can walk to the library, local elementary school, parks, and lakes, the best ice cream in town, and our favorite children’s bookstore. Our home is a modest bungalow, which has recently become the only plum-colored house on the block. Anna planted rain gardens and strawberry gardens around the perimeter, which attract butterflies and birds throughout the year. Three years ago, David built a patio in our backyard, on which we enjoy breakfast and summer gatherings of family and friends.

When you have a 3-day weekend, what you like to do?

When we have a three-day weekend, we like to gather with our family and friends and/or travel in several combinations. When possible, we travel to see our family and friends that are out of town, whether to a reunion at a lake or farm, or recently to see our niece play in her high school marching band. When we travel by ourselves, we delight in hiking in State Parks, exploring small towns, and wandering around art museums in big cities. A long weekend at home means inviting our family and friends over for ravioli-making parties, cousin catch-ups, or holiday celebrations.

Do you have pets? If so, tell us about them.

We share our home with our small, sweet dog, Rufus. Rufus is a middle-age rescue dog who spends his days sleeping on laps, sleeping in the sun, and looking forward to mealtime.

What do you hope to teach your child(ren)?

First and most importantly, we want to teach them love and respect for themselves and for the whole diversity of human expression and identity. Beyond that, we want to teach them to be engaged members of society: developing emotional intelligence, financial competence, and critical thinking. We want to introduce them to things that are most precious to us: love of the outdoors, music, cooking, our family, and being part of a faith community.

What will you tell your child about his or her birthmom?

With your guidance, our child will know their birth mother from the beginning. They will know her name as they know the names of their grandmothers, cousins, and aunts. They will know that she loved them enough to want a better life for them than she could provide herself. We will let them know that their birth mother loves them and always will.

Are you active in your church? Tell us about your activities.

We are Episcopalians – Christians with a liberal social theology, and both of us are employed by the church. Anna is a priest at our Episcopal cathedral, where she serves as Director of Family Ministries. In this role, she leads worship, preaches, and focuses on guiding the faith lives of parents with children and teenagers at home. David is an active member of the Cathedral, singing in the tenor section of the choir. He is also Director of Music for an evening worship service at another nearby church. We rely on the support, community, and spiritual reflection that our churches provide us.

How will a child enrich your life?

We look forward to seeing the world through a child’s eyes, and re-experiencing wonder and surprise. A child will also compel us to question our assumptions, and become more aware of our words, our actions, and our beliefs.

Will you be a stay-at-home parent? If so, what are your day-to-day plans?

We have created a life of part-time self-employment and part-time traditional employment that gives us a lot of flexibility of schedule. When we adopt, Anna will take as long a maternity leave as possible and then reduce her hours to be a part-time stay-at-home parent. David will not reduce his hours, but change his schedule to provide some of the other care. Anna’s parents are also excited to be the other primary part-time caregivers when we are unable to do so.

What are some traditions that you will share with your child?

Our most important daily tradition is eating our meals together. We believe mealtimes are important shared events; opportunities for the family to strengthen its bonds of understanding and mutual commitment. We sing a blessing before each meal, as David’s family did during his childhood. We also gather with Anna’s large family several times a year, notably for Thanksgiving and the Fourth of July. Water sports, Pickleball, board games and heaps of food – these multi-generational gatherings keep us current with the events of her relatives’ lives at a slow and easy pace. Who knows what new traditions, large and small, that a child will help bring to our lives!

What languages do you speak?

Anna speaks Chinese (Mandarin) and spent a year studying and working in China. She always had a strong interest in visiting and learning about the country from which her grandmother immigrated.

Message David and Anna

  • Date Format: MM slash DD slash YYYY

Contact David and Anna

  • Date Format: MM slash DD slash YYYY

Contact Us

Get your Free Adoption Packet

  • Date Format: MM slash DD slash YYYY

We respect your privacy. View our Privacy Policy.

We respect your privacy. View our Privacy Policy.

Speak with a Specialist 1-800-367-2367