Matthew and Kristi

Married Since: 2007

Pets: Yes

Stay at Home Parent: No

Other Adopted Children at Home: Yes

Other Biological Children at Home: No

Our children will know where they came from and who their birth parents are. We will continually bring up adoption as your child grows so they can understand what it means and know that you loved them so, so much. We will tell your child how much we love you…

Matthew and Kristi

from Nebraska

Matthew

Ancestry: Irish, Northern European

Religion: Catholic

Occupation: Data Analyst

Education: MBA

Hobbies: Photography, Drawing, Web development

Kristi

Ancestry: Irish

Religion: Catholic

Occupation: Registered Nurse

Education: BSN

Hobbies: Reading, Playing outside, Card-making

Baby

Preferred Ethnicity of Baby: All Races / Ethnicities

Preferred Gender of Baby: Either

Religion Child To Be Raised: Catholic

Photos

Dear Expectant Mother,

First, we just want to say that we think you are an extremely brave woman with a selfless heart. We want to thank you from the very depths of our heart that you are making this tough decision for your child. We can’t begin to understand the anguish and heartache of your situation and this decision. We can only say how grateful we are and can promise that if you choose us as parents of your child, we will love, care for, and raise your child to become a strong, healthy, independent and productive adult in the future.

We struggled with infertility for many years but always knew we wanted to become parents. We decided we would grow our family through adoption and two years ago we were blessed with our son, Corbin through the gift of adoption. Corbin has been an incredible blessing to us, and we are excited to grow our family again through adoption.

Our hope for our children is that they feel blessed, kind, happy, smart, and know they can do anything. We will support your child physically, spiritually, emotionally and financially. We will build traditions and memories through different experiences and travel. Our home will be full of laughter, joy, and all out noise as we play hide and seek, race, and fly around imagining ourselves as airplanes.

We moved from the city life back to the small town we grew up in about 6 years ago. We bought a 130-year-old house on 12 acres of land. We gutted it and completely renovated our house, making it in to a home that we can be in forever. We added a great, wrap-around porch on where we can view the sunrise and sunsets while Corbin plays on the playground or in the grass. Just this past year we built a large playground area and enjoy spending evenings together pushing Corbin on the swing or watching him go down the slides. Our acreage is covered with different trees and grasses that we walk through with Corbin. We live a mile from Matt’s parents, who live on the other side of the corn/bean field and we spend at least one evening a week with them. Kristi’s parents live only a short 10 minutes away and we go to each other’s homes and every so often Corbin will stay the night with them. The community is an all-around nice place to raise children as it is safe, and everyone is friendly. The area is full of children and young parents. While driving around you can see children outside playing and riding bikes through the side streets. It’s a very relaxed and kind community that helps each other out when needed.

Our children will know where they came from and who their birth parents are. We will continually bring up adoption as your child grows so they can understand what it means and know that you loved them so, so much. We will tell your child how much we love you, and that you gave us the greatest gift of all. We will think of you every day and pray for your health and happiness. Thank you for considering our family!

With love,
Matt & Kristi

Q&A

Tell us about your home and neighborhood.

We live 5 miles outside of a small community of about 7,000. We live on 12 acres surrounded by agriculture fields. We have a big red barn, a large building, and a 2 story farm house. Our acreage is covered with different grasses, trees, and, unfortunately weeds. We live a half a mile from Matt’s parents who live on the other side of corn/bean fields. It’s a quiet area that’s broken by the occasional train going by on tracks about a mile away. The community itself is an all-around “nice place” as there are many farmers in the area, that are supported through your normal businesses. When driving through neighborhoods or parks there are always kids running around or riding bicycles.

When you have a 3-day weekend, what you like to do?

We tend to hang out with grandparents quite a lot either at Kristi’s parents during the summer who have a pool where we are teaching Corbin to swim and blow bubbles, or at my parents during the fall watching Husker/Chief football games and giving the kids rides on the side by side. We make visits further out into the country where Kristi’s dad (Jim) has a horse and we go and feed it. Next year will begin giving riding lessons to Corbin. We like to take many walks through our property or play on the large play set that we built this past year with Corbin where he can climb, swing, and slide down the different obstacles. We have a large commercial mower for our acreage and Corbin likes to go with us while we mow and has often fallen asleep in our laps during the process. We take trips to Denver or Lincoln to visit other family and friends where we go to the zoo or children’s museum.

Do you have pets? If so, tell us about them.

We have one labradoodle and a barn cat. Tia is the labradoodle who is now over 10 years old so she is calm and likes to lick newcomers. The cat (Smores) is very friendly and loves to lay in your lap or rub across your hands while trying to work on something outdoors. Kristi is allergic to cats so she stays outdoors while Tia is very much a princess or thinks she is human and has to be inside at all times. We have to lock ourselves outdoors otherwise Tia will nudge the door handle and let herself in even on a nice 70 degree day.

What do you hope to teach your child(ren)?

We hope to teach our children to become independent, strong, and well-rounded individuals. They will learn to be able to think outside of the box to solve problems and not be afraid to get their hands dirty if the need arises. If along the way they get some cuts and bruises they will eventually understand that it’s okay and we are there for them, but want them to have the tools to be successful adults.

What will you tell your child about his or her birthmom?

We will talk to them about their birthmom and how much she loved them and cared for them. That she is a very strong and thoughtful woman who wanted her child to have a family that wasn’t able to have one of their own. That she was able to give us the best gift we have ever received.

Are you active in your church? Tell us about your activities.

We are Catholic and go to mass weekly. We participate in various activities such as helping with the food booth at the fair, participating at our yearly GALA, and Kristi is in a couple of groups that help out with different things through the year.

How will a child enrich your life?

We were blessed to have adopted Corbin which has changed our world completely. We absolutely love and adore him and we love watching him grow into his own. We feel that adopting a sibling will multiply our feelings to both Corbin and the new baby. Being able to raise, teach, and learn from children is such a blessing and we feel that we have more room physically, emotionally, and spiritually to bring another wonderful smile and laugh into our family.

Describe your last vacation and/or daytrip.

Our last vacation was spent at a lake that is about 2 hours away. 5 of our closest couples from church and a total of 18 children rented one large home and spent 4 days there. This was the second year in a row to do this and we all have so much fun, laughter, and at the end of the day are exhausted after a day on the beach playing in the water, skiing, tubing, and building sand castles. The kids have an absolute blast during the day and when they eventually tire and go to bed the parents are able to sit and relax and have great conversations or some card games. It’s a lot of work and we are tired by the end of it, but the memories we are creating are priceless.

Will you be a stay-at-home parent? If so, what are your day-to-day plans?

We both work, but have built up Paid Time Off, and Kristi will spend the first 3 months home with the baby and Corbin. Matt will take an initial couple weeks off and then do a month home with the baby and Corbin. We have talked with grandparents and have worked it to where the baby will be home for a total of about 6 months before he/she goes to daycare where Corbin goes. Matt works 4 days a week and has Fridays off so Corbin and the baby will be with him on Fridays as Corbin has been for the past two years. Once the new baby comes Kristi plans to have 1 day off during the week as well.

Will you be returning to work? If so, describe your day-care plans.

Daycare will be Monday through Thursday about 0730-1600. Sometimes Grandma and Grandpa will pick up the kids and play with them until dinner time.

When you close your eyes and see yourself holding your precious baby in your arms, what are your thoughts regarding his or her birth mother?

Matt – When I close my eyes and feel the warmth and the precious little fingers of the baby in my arms I just feel absolute love and gratitude towards the birth mother. Tears fill my eyes and I just think that what she has done for the baby, for us is a miracle. Without her strength and selflessness we wouldn’t have the opportunity to raise this beautiful child. Kristi – When I close my eyes and think of our baby’s birthmother I am grateful she is helping me become a mother which I wouldn’t be able to do without her. I will always love her and pray for her. I am humbled by her sacrifice for her baby and we will always cherish the gift she gave us.

Message Matthew and Kristi

  • Date Format: MM slash DD slash YYYY

Contact Matthew and Kristi

  • Date Format: MM slash DD slash YYYY

Contact Us

Get your Free Adoption Packet

  • Date Format: MM slash DD slash YYYY

We respect your privacy. View our Privacy Policy.

We respect your privacy. View our Privacy Policy.

Speak with a Specialist 1-800-367-2367