Adoption Agencies, Information and Resources in Nevada

View Waiting Families

Start your research with this quick-reference, and confirm any updates with your local representation.
More in depth information is provided on our Adoption Laws By State page.

Our use of the terms “putting up” or “giving up” does not reflect how we feel about adoptive placement. These terms remain the most widely used search terms for those who are considering adoption for their baby, and we wish to reach all who seek this important information.

Adoption By City


Las Vegas


How to Adopt in Nevada

Nevada isn’t just home to the famous Las Vegas Strip; it’s also home to many families seeking adoption opportunities and resources to begin their journey. Whether you are looking to adopt, looking to place your child for adoption, or searching for information about home studies and where to begin the process, the following information will be your guide to all things adoption in Nevada.

What you need to know about adopting a baby in Nevada

To get started on your adoption journey, it is important to understand some of the fundamental aspects and frequently asked question about the process. Here are a few things to know when considering adoption in Nevada.

What are the laws and requirements for adopting a baby in Nevada?

To be eligible to become an Adoptive Parent in Nevada, you must meet the following requirements:

  • Be at least 21 years old
  • Be at least 10 years older than the child you wish to adopt
  • Have sufficient income to support the child
  • Pass criminal background checks
  • Complete a home study, jointly with your spouse if married
  • Be able to provide a loving, supportive environment for the child

Expenses related to adoption in Nevada range widely depending on the type of adoption you decide to pursue. Are you looking to adopt internationally or domestically? Through a private agency or the foster care system? Depending on what you decide, Adoptive Parents may be asked to cover adoption-related expenses such as medical bills and reasonable living expenses.

How do you become a Foster Parent in Nevada?

To become a Foster Parent in Nevada, you must meet the following qualifications:

  • Be at least 21 years old
  • Have sufficient income to provide for the child
  • Have a clear criminal background and child abuse check
  • Be able to provide a loving and supportive environment for the child
  • You may be single, a same-sex couple, married, divorced, or widowed
  • Attend preservice training
  • Complete a home study, to include your spouse or partner if applicable

What is a facilitator and is it legal to use their services for adoption in Nevada?

An adoption facilitator specializes in matching prospective Adoptive Families with expectant mothers; however, they are usually unlicensed and unregulated.

In Nevada, it is considered unlawful for any person or entity other than a licensed child-placing agency to facilitate an adoption or receive any compensation in assisting with an adoption. Nevada law does not prohibit the following:

  • A parent, guardian, or agency from placing or arranging the placement of any child for adoption
  • A person from sharing information about an adoption, if no money or other compensation is paid

Click here to read about the difference between adoption agencies, attorneys, and facilitators.

What you need to know about placing your baby for adoption in Nevada

If you are considering placing your child for adoption, understanding how the adoption process works as well as knowing your rights may relieve some of your worry. Here are a few things to know when considering adoption for your child in Nevada.

Who must consent to an adoption in Nevada?

Consent to adoption in Nevada must be given by:

  • Both parents if both are living
  • The living parent of the child if the other has died
  • The child’s legal court-appointed guardian
  • The adoptee if he or she is at least 14 years old

When is consent not necessary for adoption in Nevada?

Consent to adoption will not be required of a parent whose parental rights have been terminated or who has been declared insane for 2 years by court and there is proof that the insanity is incurable.

How and when can Birth Parents consent to adoption in Nevada?

Consent to adoption in Nevada cannot be given by the Birth Mom until 72 hours after the child’s birth. A Birth Father who is not married to the Birth Mom may give his consent before the child is born.

For consent to be valid, it must be given in the following way:

  • In writing and signed by the person giving consent
  • Identify the child being adopted by name, sex and date of birth
  • The names of the people who will be adopting the child
  • Signed by 2 witnesses

Can a Birth Parent revoke their consent to adoption in Nevada?

In Nevada, consent may not be given within the first 3 days of the child’s birth, so the Birth Mom has that time to decide if she still wishes to pursue adoption. The consent becomes irrevocable once it is given.

What rights do Birth Fathers have in the adoption process in Nevada?

A ‘Putative Father’ is a man who is alleged or reputed to be the father of an illegitimate child.

A man is considered a ‘Presumed Natural Father’ if:

  • He and the Birth Mom are or have been married to each other and the child is born during the marriage, or within 285 days after the marriage is terminated
  • He and the Birth Mom were living together for at least 6 months before the child’s conception and continued to live together throughout the pregnancy
  • Before the child’s birth, he and the Birth Mom have attempted to marry each other, although the attempted marriage is invalid, and:
    • If the attempted marriage could be declared invalid only by a court, the child is born during the attempted marriage or within 285 days after its termination
    • If the attempted marriage is invalid without a court order, the child is born within 285 days after the termination of cohabitation
  • While the child is a minor, he receives the child into his home and openly holds out the child as his natural child

In Nevada, a man who is married to the child’s Birth Mom at the time of the child’s birth is assumed to be the Biological Father which means he has parental rights to the child. When a child is born out of wedlock, a man will only have a right to object to the adoption if he can prove both his paternity and his intent to parent the child.

Home study and Post Placement Requirements in Nevada

Prospective Adoptive Parents in Nevada are required to complete a home study before beginning the adoption process and a postplacement assessment after the adoption takes place. Both will assess your ability to provide a safe and stable environment for the child you wish to adopt.

What is a home study and what happens during the process?

The home study is a critical component to the adoption process. While it is to ensure your home will provide a child with stability, safety, and support, it is also a resource for Prospective Adoptive Parents to asks questions and prepare for the adoption. A home study is ultimately a recommendation as to the fitness of the applicants to become Adoptive Parents.

In Nevada, a Prospective Parent requesting a home study must:

  • Submit a written application and a copy of his or her fingerprints
  • Sign a release of information
  • Submit any other information requested by the agency conducting the home study

The home study assessment will include the following:

  • An interview of the Prospective Parent(s)
  • A home visit to include a fire and safety inspection
  • A medical exam for everyone living in the home
  • Any records or marriage, divorce, or death of a spouse
  • A review of any reports of child abuse or neglect from the Prospective Parents and anyone 18 years or older living in their home
  • A review of the local, State and Federal criminal history of the Prospective Parents and anyone 18 years or older living in their home
  • At least five references from people who have known the applicants for at least 2 years, two of which may be from family members

Who oversees a home study in Nevada and who is included in it?

A home study in Nevada must be conducted by a licensed child-placing agency or an agency that provides child welfare services. The Prospective Parents and anyone 18 years or older living in the home will be a part of the study.

Why would my home study not be approved in Nevada?

A home study in Nevada may be denied approval if the Prospective Parent(s):

  • Submit false information or withhold relevant information
  • Refuse to provide information requested by the agency
  • Are married but the spouse has not joined in the adoption application
  • Are married, but the relationship is found to be unstable
  • If applying to adopt jointly, are not legally married
  • Cannot provide adequate housing for the child
  • Cannot provide financial responsibility for the child
  • Cannot provide ongoing physical and emotional support for the child
  • Themselves or anyone over 18 living in the home have been convicted or arrested for a crime against a child
  • Themselves or anyone over 18 living in the home have, at any time, been charged or have charges pending for:
    • Child abuse and neglect
    • Spousal abuse
    • Crimes against a child, including child pornography
    • Crimes involving violence, including rape, sexual assault or homicide but not physical assault or battery
    • Physical assault, battery or a drug-related offense committed within the past 5 years

A home study may also be denied if the agency finds concerns regarding the Prospective Parents motivation to adopt, moral character, or mental stability that may endanger the safety and well-being of the child.

Is a home study different for stepparent or relative adoptions in Nevada?

The court may waive the home study assessment for a stepparent or relative adoption, within the third degree of consanguinity. If this is the case, the stepparent or relative must submit a copy of the court order to the agency conducting the study within 7 days of its issuance.

What are the home study requirements for adopting a baby from another state?

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children.

What is a post placement requirement and what happens during the process?

Before the adoption has been finalized, a post placement assessment will take place to ensure the transition into adoption is going well and that the Adoptive Family’s circumstances have not changed to no longer fit the child’s best interest.

In Nevada, a post placement assessment will include:

  • For a child with special needs, at least one supervisory home visit:
    • Per week during the first month of placement
    • Per month until the adoption is final
  • For a child without special needs, one supervisory visit every month until the adoption is final
  • Document all people who have contact with the child
  • Provide a consultation or referral to community resources as necessary to meet the child’s needs
  • Assist the Adoptive Parents in developing the skills to meet the child’s needs

What are the requirements for a Foster to Adopt placement in Nevada?

A Foster Parent may adopt a child currently in their care, but the agency assisting in the adoption proceedings must first:

  • Review the Foster Parents licensing records
  • Update the study of the Prospective Adoptive Home
  • Determine if the family is eligible for financial assistance
  • Request and review the criminal and child abuse records of the Prospective Parents and anyone at least 18 years old living in the home

Nevada Adoption Agencies and Professionals

Nevada is home to some amazing adoption professionals who are ready to get your journey started. Whether you are interested in adopting a child or seeking resources to place your child for adoption, these professionals will guide you through the legal pathways and offer you support throughout your journey:

Adoption Choices of Nevada775-200-4585

Premier Adoption Agency702-459-5918

A Child’s Dream of Nevada702-399-3274

SAFY Inc.702-385-5331

Things to do in Nevada

f your adoption journey brings you to Nevada, visit some of its most famous and well-known attractions:

Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area in Las Vegas

The Strip in Las Vegas

Pinball Hall of Fame in Las Vegas

The Grand Canal Shoppes at the Venetian in Las Vegas

Valley of Fire State Park in Overton

A note from Adoption Network Law Center

No matter your decision, we appreciate the time you have taken to read about how to adopt in Nevada. Adoption Network Law Center wishes you the best of luck and is available to answer any further questions you may have about the adoption process. Call 1-866-602-9541 to speak with one of our amazing team members or visit to read more about our services. Whether you’re a soon-to-be Birth Parent or Prospective Adoptive Parent, ANLC wishes you the best on your adoption journey.

Available 24/7 to Answer Your Adoption Questions

We're here to help.

Get your Free Adoption Packet

Or call us at