Adoption Agencies, Information and Resources in Kansas

View Waiting Families

Start your research with this quick-reference, and confirm any updates with your local representation.
More in depth information is provided on our Adoption Laws By State page.

Our use of the terms “putting up” or “giving up” does not reflect how we feel about adoptive placement. These terms remain the most widely used search terms for those who are considering adoption for their baby, and we wish to reach all who seek this important information.

Adoption By City


How to Adopt in Kansas

Whether you are looking to adopt, looking to place your child for adoption, or searching for information about home studies and where to begin the process, the following information will be your guide to all things adoption in Kansas.

What you need to know about adopting a baby in Kansas

To get started on your adoption journey, it is important to understand some of the fundamental aspects and frequently asked question about the process. Here are a few things to know when considering adoption in Kansas.

What are the laws and requirements for adopting a baby in Kansas?

Any adult, 18 years or older, married or unmarried may attempt to adopt a child in Kansas. If the Prospective Adoptive Parent is married, he or she cannot petition to adopt without the consent of their spouse.

How much does it cost to adopt a baby in Kansas?

Expenses related to adoption in Kansas range widely depending on the type of adoption you decide to pursue. Are you looking to adopt internationally or domestically? Through a private agency or the foster care system? Depending on what you decide, Adoptive Parents may be asked to cover adoption-related expenses such as:

  • Medical expenses for the Birth Mother and child
  • Reasonable living expenses the Birth Mother incurred during the pregnancy
  • Agency and attorney fees

How do you become a Foster Parent in Kansas?

To become a Foster Parent in Kansas, you must meet the following requirements:

  • Be at least 21 years old
  • Meet the basic income requirements
  • Have a reliable form of transportation
  • Be free from government assistance, such as food stamps or Medicaid
  • Meet the local fire safety codes and have a separate bed for each child
  • Agree to use non-physical punishment as discipline for the child
  • Complete 30 hours of “Trauma-Informed Partnering for Safety and Permanency – Model Approach for Partnerships in Parenting” training (TIPS-MAPP)
  • Be willing to undergo a criminal background check for yourself and everyone living in your home
  • Complete CPR, First Aid, and Medical Administration training

For more information about the process, click here.

What is a facilitator and is it legal to use their services for adoption in Kansas?

An adoption facilitator specializes in matching prospective Adoptive Families with expectant mothers; however, they are usually unlicensed and unregulated.

In Kansas, no person or entity other than a licensed agency or professional shall assist in the adoption process.

Click here to read about the difference between adoption agencies, attorneys, and facilitators.

What you need to know about placing your baby for adoption in Kansas

If you are considering placing your child for adoption, understanding how the adoption process works as well as knowing your rights may relieve some of your worry. Here are a few things to know when considering adoption for your child in Kansas.

Kansas is home to many families seeking adoption opportunities and resources to begin their journey. Click here to see some potential Adoptive Parents.

Who must consent to an adoption in Kansas?

Consent to adoption in Kansas must be given by the following:

  • The child’s living parents
  • The child’s legal guardian, if both parents are dead or their parental rights have been terminated
  • The child adoptee if they are at least 14 years old

When is consent not necessary for adoption in Kansas?

Consent to adoption in Kansas is not required by a child’s Birth Parent whose parental rights have been terminated or by a Birth Father who:

  • Knowingly abandoned or neglected the child
  • Is unfit as a parent or incapable of giving consent
  • Has made no reasonable effort to communicate with or support the child
  • Failed to support the Birth Mother during her pregnancy for at least 6 months prior to the child’s birth
  • Abandoned the child’s Birth Mother after receiving knowledge of the pregnancy
  • Is the child’s father as a result of rape of the Birth Mother
  • Has failed to assume parental duties for 2 consecutive years before the adoption petition

How and when can Birth Parents consent to adoption in Kansas?

Consent in Kansas must be given in writing and acknowledged before a judge or authorized officer.

Consent from a Birth Mother may not be given until 12 hours after the child’s birth, otherwise it is voidable. Consent from all other parties should not be given more than 6 months prior to the adoption petition.

If the parent is a minor, they will first receive advice from an independent legal counsel as to the consequences of the consent prior to its execution. The attorney providing independent legal advice to the minor parent must be present when the consent is given.

Can a Birth Parent revoke their consent to adoption in Kansas?

Consent to adoption is final and irrevocable once executed, unless prior to the final decree of adoption, there is evidence that the consent was not freely or voluntarily given.

What rights do Birth Fathers have in the adoption process in Kansas?

A “parent and child relationship” means the legal relationship existing between a child and the child’s biological or adoptive parents on which the law grants rights, privileges, duties, and obligations. It includes the mother and child relationship and the father and child relationship.

A “Presumed Father” is a man who, until proven otherwise, is considered the child’s legal father by law.

In Kansas, a man is considered a Presumed Father, therefore granting him parental rights, if:

  • He and the child’s Birth Mother are, or have been, married to each other, and the child is born during that marriage or within 300 days after the marriage is terminated
  • Before the child’s birth, he and the Birth Mother have attempted to marry each other by a marriage solemnized in compliance with law, but the attempted marriage is void or voidable, and:
    • If the attempted marriage is voidable, the child is born during the attempted marriage or within 300 days after its termination
    • If the attempted marriage is void, the child is born within 300 days after the termination of cohabitation
  • After the child’s birth, he and the Birth Mother have married, or attempted to marry, each other, but the attempted marriage is void or voidable, and:
    • He has acknowledged paternity of the child in writing
    • With his consent, he is named as the child’s father on the child’s birth certificate
    • He is obligated to support the child under a written voluntary promise or by a court order
  • The man, in writing, recognizes paternity of the child, including a voluntary acknowledgment
  • Genetic tests show at least a 97 percent probability that he is the Birth Father
  • The man has a duty to support the child under court order or support, even if he was never married to the Birth Mother

Home study and Post Placement Requirements in Kansas

Prospective Adoptive Parents in Kansas are required to complete a home study before beginning the adoption process and a postplacement assessment after the adoption takes place. Both will assess your ability to provide a safe and stable environment for the child you wish to adopt.

What is a home study and what happens during the process?

The home study is a critical component to the adoption process. While it is to ensure your home will provide a child with stability, safety, and support, it is also a resource for Prospective Adoptive Parents to asks questions and prepare for the adoption. A home study is ultimately a recommendation as to the fitness of the applicants to become Adoptive Parents.

In Kansas, a home study will include a criminal background check, interview, and child abuse and neglect registry check. In addition, the professional conducting the home study will make a written assessment evaluating the following:

  • Motivation for adoption
  • The entire family’s attitude toward the adoption
  • Emotional and physical health of the Adoptive Parents
  • Ability to cope with problems, stress, frustrations, crisis, and loss
  • Medical records and information regarding health conditions that could affect the ability to parent a child
  • Record of convictions other than minor traffic violations
  • Ability to provide for the child’s physical and emotional needs
  • Capacity to give and receive affection
  • Types of children desired and kinds of disabilities accepted
  • References
  • Types of children who would not be appropriate for placement with the family
  • Recommendations for number, age, sex, characteristics, and special needs children best served by the family

What is a home study and what happens during the process?

Everyone in the Prospective Adoptive Family will be included in a home study and it can be conducted by any of the following court-approved, licensed professionals:

  • Social worker
  • Marriage and family therapist
  • Counselor
  • Child-placing agency
  • Psychologist or psychotherapist

Why would my home study not be approved in Kansas?

An adoption home study in Kansas will not be approved if a Prospective Parent is found to have a felony conviction for the following acts:

  • Crimes against a person, including:
    • Murder
    • Manslaughter
    • Assault
    • Battery
    • Kidnapping
  • Sex offenses, including:
    • Rape
    • Sexual battery
    • Sexual exploitation of a child
  • Crimes affecting family relationships or children, including:
    • Incest
    • Abuse
    • Abandonment
    • Endangerment of a child
  • Unlawful disclosure of tax information
  • Unlawful interference with a firefighter or emergency medical services attendant
  • Permitting a dangerous animal to be at large
  • Selling, promoting, or buying of sexual relations
  • Commercial sexual exploitation of a child
  • Within the past 5 years, bee convicted of a felony for:
    • Crimes involving controlled substances

Is a home study different for stepparent or relative adoptions in Kansas?

If approved in court, the home study for stepparent or relative adoptions may be waived in Kansas.

What are the home study requirements for adopting a baby from another state?

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children.

What is a post placement requirement and what happens during the process?

Before the adoption has been finalized, a post placement assessment will take place to ensure the transition into adoption is going well and that the Adoptive Family’s circumstances have not changed to no longer fit the child’s best interest.

In Kansas, a licensed social worker or agency representative will schedule in-home visits as they feel needed. These visits will enable them to make a clear recommendation as to whether or not the adoption should be finalized.

Alabama Adoption Agencies and Professionals

Kansas is home to some amazing adoption professionals who are ready to get your journey started. Whether you are interested in adopting a child or seeking resources to place your child for adoption, these professionals will guide you through the legal pathways and offer you support throughout your journey:

Adoption Choices of Kansas1-316-209-2071

Adoption Centre of Kansas316-265-5289

Adoption and Beyond913-381-6919

Things to do in Kansas

If your adoption journey brings you to Kansas, the Sunflower state, check out some of its most popular spots to visit:

Oz Museum in Wamego

Deanna Rose Children’s Farmstead in Overland Park

Safari Zoological Park in Caney

Strataca Mine in Hutchinson

Museum of World Treasures in Wichita

A note from Adoption Network Law Center

No matter your decision, we appreciate the time you have taken to read about how to adopt in Kansas. Adoption Network Law Center wishes you the best of luck and is available to answer any further questions you may have about the adoption process. Call 1-866-602-9541 to speak with one of our amazing team members or visit to read more about our services. Whether you’re a soon-to-be Birth Parent or Prospective Adoptive Parent, ANLC wishes you the best on your adoption journey.

Available 24/7 to Answer Your Adoption Questions

We're here to help.

Get your Free Adoption Packet

Or call us at