Adoption Agencies, Information and Resources in Michigan

View Waiting Families

Start your research with this quick-reference, and confirm any updates with your local representation.
More in depth information is provided on our Adoption Laws By State page.

Our use of the terms “putting up” or “giving up” does not reflect how we feel about adoptive placement. These terms remain the most widely used search terms for those who are considering adoption for their baby, and we wish to reach all who seek this important information.

How to Adopt in Michigan

Michigan isn’t just home to the Great Lakes; it’s also home to many families seeking adoption opportunities and resources to begin their journey. Whether you are looking to adopt, looking to place your child for adoption, or searching for information about home studies and where to begin the process, the following information will be your guide to all things adoption in Michigan.

What you need to know about adopting a baby in Michigan

To get started on your adoption journey, it is important to understand some of the fundamental aspects and frequently asked question about the process. Here are a few things to know when considering adoption in Michigan.

What are the laws and requirements for adopting a baby in Michigan?

In Michigan, anyone may petition to adopt a child. If the petitioner is married, their spouse must be involved in the process. Prospective Adoptive Parents must be considered suitable to become parents and must not pose any risk of physical or psychological harm to the child.

How much does it cost to adopt a baby in Michigan?

Expenses related to adoption in Michigan range widely depending on the type of adoption you decide to pursue. Are you looking to adopt internationally or domestically? Through a private agency or the foster care system? Depending on what you decide, Adoptive Parents may be asked to cover adoption-related expenses such as:

  • Medical, hospital, pharmaceutical, or nursing expenses for the child and Birth Mother
  • Counseling services for the Birth Parent and child
  • Traveling costs associated with the adoption
  • Living expenses for the child’s Birth Mother up to 6 weeks after giving birth

Payments for living expenses of the Birth Mother after the first 6 weeks of the child’s life and any medical expenses covered by the Birth Mom’s insurance are not permitted.

How do you become a Foster Parent in Michigan?

To become a Foster Parent in Michigan, you must meet the following requirements:

  • Be at least 21 years old
  • Have sufficient income to support the child’s needs
  • Agree to use nonphysical punishment to discipline the child
  • Complete the following trainings:
    • CPR/First Aid
    • Blood Borne Pathogens
    • Licensing Orientation
    • Pre-service Training
  • All adults in the home must:
    • Submit a tuberculosis test
    • Complete a state and federal background check

If you meet these requirements, you qualify to get your Foster Parent license and can begin changing the lives of children who need you. For more information, click here.

Can you finalize an international adoption in Michigan?

Adoption of a child from a foreign country that is presumed to be issued in accordance with the laws of the foreign country and the State of the Adoptive Parents’ residence will be recognized in Michigan.

What is a facilitator and is it legal to use their services for adoption in Michigan?

An adoption facilitator specializes in matching prospective Adoptive Families with expectant mothers; however, they are usually unlicensed and unregulated.

In Michigan, it is only licensed child-placing agencies or court authorized facilities may assist with adoption proceedings. An unlicensed person or agencies may not assist in the placement of a child.

Click here to read about the difference between adoption agencies, attorneys, and facilitators.

What you need to know about placing your baby for adoption in Michigan

If you are considering placing your child for adoption, understanding how the adoption process works as well as knowing your rights may relieve some of your worry. Here are a few things to know when considering adoption for your child in Michigan.

Who must consent to an adoption in Michigan?

Consent to adoption in Michigan must be given by the following:

  • Each parent or the surviving parent
  • The guardian of the child, if a guardian has been appointed
  • The guardian of the parent, if a guardian has been appointed
  • The court or a tribal court having permanent custody of the child
  • The court having custody of the child
  • The adoptee if they are 14 years old or older

If the child’s parent is a minor, consent will not be valid until the parent’s legal guardian has also consented to the adoption.

When is consent not necessary for adoption in Michigan?

Consent from each parent or a surviving parent is required unless:

  • They have had their parental rights terminated
  • The child has been released for the purpose of adoption to a child-placing agency
  • A guardian of the child has been appointed
  • A guardian of a parent has been appointed
  • A parent having legal custody of the child is married to the petitioner

Can a Birth Parent revoke their consent to adoption in Michigan?

A person who gave their consent to adoption may petition the court to revoke it. A release may not be revoked if the child has been placed for adoption, unless the child was placed as provided by § 710.41(2) (while an appeal of a termination of parental rights is pending), and a petition has been filed for a rehearing within the time required.

What rights do Birth Fathers have in the adoption process in Michigan?

A ‘Father’ is the man who signs an acknowledgment of parentage of a child.

If a child is born out of wedlock, a man is considered to be the ‘Natural Father’ of that child if he joins with the child’s Birth Mother and acknowledges that child as his by completing an acknowledgment of parentage form.

A Putative Father, in general, is a man who hasn’t legally established paternity of the child but who is alleged to be or claims to be the Birth Father of a child who was born to a woman out of wedlock.

The court may permanently terminate the rights of the Putative Father when he:

  • Submits a verified affirmation of his paternity and a denial of his interest in custody of the child
  • Files a disclaimer of paternity
  • Was served with a notice of intent to release or consent at least 30 days before the expected date of birth but failed to file an intent to claim paternity either before the expected date of birth or before the birth of the child
  • Is given proper notice of hearing but either fails to appear at the hearing or appears and denies his interest in custody of the child
  • Has not shown interest for the child’s care and did not provide support for the Birth Mom during her pregnancy
  • Has not provided support for the Birth Mom, has not shown any interest in the child, and has not made provision for the child’s care for at least 90 days preceding a required court hearing

Home study and Post Placement Requirements in Michigan

Prospective Adoptive Parents in Michigan are required to complete a home study before beginning the adoption process and a postplacement assessment after the adoption takes place. Both will assess your ability to provide a safe and stable environment for the child you wish to adopt.

What is a home study and what happens during the process?

In Michigan, the home study will include an interview and assessment of the following information about the Prospective Adoptive Parents:

Prospective Adoptive Parents in Michigan are required to complete a home study before beginning the adoption process and a postplacement assessment after the adoption takes place. Both will assess your ability to provide a safe and stable environment for the child you wish to adopt.

  • Marital status and family history
  • Education and employment history
  • Physical and mental health, including any history of substance abuse
  • Reason for choosing adoption
  • Proof of income and property
  • Age, nationality, religious preference, race, ethnicity
  • Criminal background check
  • Whether the individual has ever been the respondent in a domestic violence proceeding or a proceeding concerning a child who was allegedly abused, dependent, deprived, neglected, abandoned, or delinquent, and the outcome of the proceeding
  • Any circumstance that raises concern about the suitability of the individual as an Adoptive Parent

For more information about the home study process, click here.

Who oversees a home study in Michigan and who is included in it?

An adoption home study in Michigan is conducted by a licensed child-placing agency and the Prospective Adoptive Parents will be included in it.

For more information about the home study process, click here.

Why would my home study not be approved in Michigan?

In Michigan, a home study will not be approved if an Adoptive Parent has been convicted of one of the following acts:

  • Criminal sexual conduct
  • Soliciting a child for an immoral purpose or child sexual exploitation
  • A similar offense committed in another state

What are the home study requirements for adopting a baby from another state?

Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children.

What is a post placement requirement and what happens during the process?

Before the adoption has been finalized, a post placement assessment will take place to ensure the transition into adoption is going well and that the Adoptive Family’s circumstances have not changed to no longer fit the child’s best interest.

In Michigan, post placement home visits should occur at least once every 3 months until the adoption is finalized. During this time, the person conducting the home study will:

  • Assess and record the child’s and Adoptive Family’s adjustment and, where needed, include plans to assist the child or Adoptive Family
  • Keep the Adoptive Parents informed of the results of the agency’s continuing assessment of the placement at the conclusion of each visit

What are the requirements for a Foster to Adopt placement in Michigan?

A Foster Parent may petition to adopt a child who has been in their care for at least 12 months. The court may waive the full home study investigation and only require a written report, if the Foster Family study was completed or updated not more than 12 months before the petition to adopt was filed.

Michigan Adoption Agencies and Professionals

Michigan is home to some amazing adoption professionals who are ready to get your journey started. Whether you are interested in adopting a child or seeking resources to place your child for adoption, these professionals will guide you through the legal pathways and offer you support throughout your journey:

Keane Center for Adoption313-277-4664

Bethany Christian Services800-238-4269

Adoption Associates800-677-2367

Forever Families734-762-0909

Adoption Option Michigan989-839-0534

Things to do in Michigan

If your adoption journey leads you to the Great Lake State, visit some of its most well-known attractions and lake spots:

The Henry Ford Museum of American Innovation in Detroit

Michigan’s Adventure Amusement Park in Muskegon

Visit Mackinac Island

Sand Dunes in Silver Lake

The Renaissance Center in Detroit

A note from Adoption Network Law Center

No matter your decision, we appreciate the time you have taken to read about how to adopt in Michigan. Adoption Network Law Center wishes you the best of luck and is available to answer any further questions you may have about the adoption process. Call 1-866-602-9541 to speak with one of our amazing team members or visit to read more about our services. Whether you’re a soon-to-be Birth Parent or Prospective Adoptive Parent, ANLC wishes you the best on your adoption journey.

Available 24/7 to Answer Your Adoption Questions

We're here to help.

Get your Free Adoption Packet

Or call us at