Adoption Agencies, Information and Resources in Connecticut

View Waiting Families

Start your research with this quick-reference, and confirm any updates with your local representation.
More in depth information is provided on our Adoption Laws By State page.

Our use of the terms “putting up” or “giving up” does not reflect how we feel about adoptive placement. These terms remain the most widely used search terms for those who are considering adoption for their baby, and we wish to reach all who seek this important information.

How to Adopt in Connecticut

Connecticut is home to families seeking adoption opportunities and resources to begin their journey. Whether you are looking to adopt, looking to place your child for adoption, or searching for information about home studies and where to begin the process, the following information will be your guide to all things adoption in Connecticut.

What you need to know about adopting a baby in Connecticut

To get started on your adoption journey, it is important to understand some of the fundamental aspects and frequently asked question about the process. Here are a few things to know when considering adoption in Connecticut.

What are the laws and requirements for adopting a baby in Connecticut?

In order to adopt a child in Connecticut, you must have an income sufficient to support a child, own or rent a home with at least 2 bedrooms, pass a background check, and complete a home study.

Applicants must be at least 21 years old and may be single, married, divorced, or widowed.

How much does it cost to adopt a baby in Connecticut?

Adoptive Parents are only permitted to pay for Birth Mother living expenses up to $1,500. They may also pay for some maternity clothes and telephone costs, but all expenses exceeding $1,500 must be approved in court. Adoptive Parents may also pay for counseling services for the Birth Mother within 72 hours of the child’s birth.

How do you become a foster parent in Connecticut?

To become a foster parent in Connecticut, you must meet the following requirements:

  • Be at least 21 years old
  • Pass criminal background checks
  • Complete and pass a home study
  • Have sufficient income to provide for yourself and the child
  • Have at least a two-bedroom home (foster children can share the same bedroom with a child of similar age and sex, but not the same bed)
  • Attend a 10-week training program

For more information and to begin the process, click here.

What is a facilitator and is it legal to use their advertising services for adoption in Connecticut?

The state of Connecticut will allow Birth Parents and Prospective Adoptive Parents to advertise their interest in adoption through any public media, including here.

Click here to read about the difference between adoption agencies, attorneys, and facilitators.

What you need to know about placing your child for adoption in Connecticut

If you are considering placing your child for adoption, understanding how the adoption process works as well as knowing your rights may relieve some of your worry. Here are a few things to know when considering adoption for your child in Connecticut.

Who must consent to an adoption in Connecticut?

Consent to adoption in Connecticut may be given by the following:

  • A statutory parent
  • Any parent of a minor child who agrees in writing with his or her spouse that the spouse (stepparent) shall adopt the child if that parent is:
    • The surviving parent if the other parent has died
    • The mother of a child born out of wedlock, provided that there is a putative father who has been notified and the rights of the putative father have been terminated
    • A former single person who adopted a child and then got married
    • The sole guardian of the child, if the parental rights of any person have been terminated
  • Any adoptee who is 12 years or older must consent to the adoption

When is consent not necessary for adoption in Connecticut?

Consent to adoption in Connecticut is not necessary if parental rights have been involuntarily terminated because the parent has:

  • Abandoned the child
  • Failed to establish an ongoing relationship with the child
  • Subjected the child to sexual, physical or mental abuse
  • Has his or her parental rights from a previous child revoked
  • Killed, deliberately or accidentally, another child
  • Been convicted, as an adult or juvenile, of sexual assault that resulted in the conception of a child

How and when can Birth Parents consent to adoption in Connecticut?

Consent to the adoption from a Birth Mother may not be given until at least 48 hours after the child birth. The consent must be made in the form of a petition for voluntary termination of parental rights and filed in court for the district in which the petitioner lives. For children born out of wedlock, the petition must state whether there is a putative father who should receive notice of the adoption.

If the petitioner is a minor, the guardian ad litem must approve the petition in writing, before any action can be made by the court.

Can a Birth Parent revoke their consent to adoption in Connecticut?

In Connecticut, if the court finds it in the best interest of the child to void the termination of the Birth Parents parental rights, it may do so; however, no petition may be granted if a final decree of adoption has been issued prior to the filing of any such motion.

What rights do Birth Fathers have in the adoption process in Connecticut?

Similar to many states, Connecticut has a paternity registry where unmarried Birth Fathers can submit their information to receive notice of adoptions proceedings. An unmarried father can file for paternity through this registry within 60 days of the child’s birth.

Once a man has claimed paternity, he is prohibited from denying it and is required to help with the care and education of the child, as well as contribute to Birth Mother expense such as medical costs.

Legal interests, such as adoption or custody of a child, are not permitted to any Birth Father who:

  • Has not been adjudicated the child’s father by court
  • Has not acknowledged paternity in writing
  • Has not contributed regularly to the support of the child
  • Does not appear as the father on the child birth certificate

Home study and Post Placement Requirements in Connecticut

Prospective Adoptive Parents in Connecticut are required to complete a home study before beginning the adoption process and a postplacement assessment after the adoption takes place. Both will assess your ability to provide a safe and stable environment for the child you wish to adopt.

What is a home study and what happens during the process?

A home study is an assessment of an Adoptive Family’s ability and readiness to care for a child that takes place before an adoptee can be placed into a home.

In Connecticut, all members of the household who are 16 years or older must pass state and national criminal background checks as well as be cleared by the child abuse registry. The home study may include the following elements:

  • Physical condition of the home
  • Health of the applicants and members of the household
  • Ability of the applicant to create an environment that increases mental, physical, emotional, social, and educational development of the child
  • Interviews with household members about their feelings about the adoption

All home studies must be take place within 60 days of an application for adoption being filed.

Who oversees a home study in Connecticut and who is included in it?

The home study process in Connecticut may be conducted by the Department of Children and Families or an adoption agency. It will include the Prospective Adoptive Parents and all members of their household.

Why would my home study not be approved in Connecticut?

In Connecticut, a home study will be denied if anyone in the household:

  • Has been convicted of injury or risk of injury to a minor or other similar offenses against a minor
  • Has been convicted of impairing the morals of a minor or other similar offenses against a minor
  • Has been convicted of violent crime against a person or other similar offenses
  • Has been convicted of the possession, use, or sale of controlled substances within the past 5 years
  • Has been convicted of illegal use of a firearm or other similar offenses
  • Has ever had an allegation of child abuse or neglect substantiated
  • Has had a minor removed from their care because of child abuse or neglect

A home study can also be denied if a member of the Adoptive Family household:

  • Is awaiting trial, or is on trial, for charges as described above
  • Has a criminal record that the department or child-placing agency believes makes the home unsuitable
  • Has a current child abuse or neglect allegation pending

Is a home study different for stepparent or relative adoptions in Connecticut?

A home study investigation is not required in Connecticut if the stepparent is adopting the child.

What are the home study requirements for adopting a baby from another state?

Before a child from another state can be adopted in Connecticut, the Adoptive Parent or agency must send an application to the Commissioner of Children and Families for approval.

Each child-placing agency or Prospective Adoptive Family must comply with Connecticut state statutes and regulations regarding the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children.

Any person who is a licensed Foster Parent in Connecticut may be a Prospective Adoptive Parent to a child in their care.

Connecticut Adoption Agencies and Professionals

Connecticut is home to some amazing adoption professionals who are ready to get your journey started. Whether you are interested in adopting a child or seeking resources to place your child for adoption, these professionals will guide you through the legal pathways and offer you support throughout your journey:

Connecticut Adoption Services1-866-927-5437

Casey Family Services(860) 727-1030

Family and Children’s Agency(203) 855-8765

Things to do in Connecticut

If your adoption journey takes you to Connecticut and you have time to explore before the adoption if finalized, visit some of the state’s most popular attractions:

The Submarine Force Museum in Groton

The Mark Twain House and Museum in Hartford

Yale University in New Haven

Mystic Seaport in Mystic

A note from Adoption Network Law Center

No matter your decision, we appreciate the time you have taken to read about how to adopt in Connecticut. Adoption Network Law Center wishes you the best of luck and is available to answer any further questions you may have about the adoption process. Call 1-866-602-9541 to speak with one of our amazing team members or visit to read more about our services. Whether you’re a soon-to-be Birth Parent or Prospective Adoptive Parent, ANLC wishes you the best on your adoption journey.

Available 24/7 to Answer Your Adoption Questions

We're here to help.

Get your Free Adoption Packet

Or call us at