Adoption Agencies, Information and Resources in Colorado

View Waiting Families

Start your research with this quick-reference, and confirm any updates with your local representation.
More in depth information is provided on our Adoption Laws By State page.

Our use of the terms “putting up” or “giving up” does not reflect how we feel about adoptive placement. These terms remain the most widely used search terms for those who are considering adoption for their baby, and we wish to reach all who seek this important information.

Adoption By City

Colorado Springs

How to Adopt in Colorado

Colorado isn’t just home to the enormous Rocky Mountains; it’s also home to many families seeking adoption opportunities and resources to begin their journey. Whether you are looking to adopt, looking to place your child for adoption, or searching for information about home studies and where to begin the process, the following information will be your guide to all things adoption in Colorado.

What you need to know about adopting a baby in Colorado

To get started on your adoption journey, it is important to understand some of the fundamental aspects and frequently asked question about the process. Here are a few things to know when considering adoption in Colorado.

What are the laws and requirements for adopting a child in Colorado?

To be eligible to adopt a child in Colorado, you must meet following requirements:

  • Be at least 21 years old, unless otherwise approved in court
  • If married, petition to adopt with your spouse unless they are the child’s natural parent

How much does it cost to adopt a baby in Colorado?

The cost to adopt a child in Colorado depends on the type of agency you go through; private or county. In general, private agencies will cost more than a county agency, and you will more than likely use a private adoption agency for newborn adoption. Regardless of the option you choose, you may be asked to pay for expenses related to:

  • Medical care for the Birth mom and child
  • Travel
  • Counseling
  • Home study fees
  • Agency costs
  • Legal counsel and court costs

For more information about the cost of adoption, click here.

How do you become a foster parent in Colorado?

Foster Parents in Colorado must meet the following requirements:

  • Be at least 21 years old
  • Pass criminal background checks
  • Have sufficient income to support the child
  • Be physically and mentally able to care for the child
  • Complete First Aid training and receive ad CPR certification
  • Complete foster parent core training

Can you finalize an international adoption in Colorado?

To requirements: in Colorado, the Adoptive Family may submit a petition to court including the following:

  • The physical and mental condition of the child
  • The child’s family background, including the names of the child’s Birth Parents
  • Reasons to the termination of the Birth Parents parental rights
  • The suitability of the Adoptive Parents
  • The length of time the child has been in the Adoptive Parents custody and care

The court will issue a decree validating the adoption in Colorado if it finds that:

  • At least one of the Adoptive Parents is a U.S. citizen and State resident
  • The original or certified copy of the valid foreign adoption decree and notarized translation is presented in court
  • The child is a permanent resident or naturalized citizen of the United States

A new birth certificate for an adoptee born in another country will then be issued to the child.

What is a facilitator and is it legal to use their services for adoption in Colorado?

An adoption facilitator specializes in matching prospective Adoptive Families with expectant mothers; however, they are usually unlicensed and unregulated.

In Colorado, the use of facilitators is illegal. Only licensed adoption agencies and county departments can facilitate adoption proceedings.

Click adoption facilitator to read about the difference between adoption agencies, attorneys, and facilitators.

What you need to know about placing your baby for adoption in Colorado

If you are considering placing your child for adoption, understanding how the adoption process works as well as knowing your rights may relieve some of your worry. Here are a few things to know when considering adoption for your child in Colorado.

Who must consent to an adoption in Colorado?

Consent to adoption in Colorado must be given by the individual or agency having custody of the child and filing the petition for adoption. The adoptee must also give their consent if they are at least 12 years old.

For more information about adoption consent in Colorado, click here.

When is consent not necessary for adoption in Colorado?

Consent to adoption in Colorado may be given any time after the child is born.

To give consent and relinquish their child, a parent must:

  • Obtain counseling
  • Petition the juvenile court providing the name of the Birth Parents, name of the child, ages of all parties, reason for choosing adoption for their child, a statement indicating if the child is an Indian child and the identity of the Indian child’s tribe if applicable
  • Submit a standardized affidavit of relinquishment counseling that includes:
    • A copy of the child’s original birth certificate
    • A statement regarding the extent of counseling and any recommendations from the counselor
    • A statement regarding any and all payments in connection with the adoption

Can a Birth Parent revoke their consent to adoption in Colorado?

In Colorado, a Birth Parent may revoke their initial consent to adoption within 91 days of the relinquishment order only if they can provide clear evidence that their consent was obtained under fraud or duress.

The fact that the Birth Parents are minors will have no effect of the validity of the final order of the child’s relinquishment.

What rights do Birth Fathers have in the adoption process in Colorado?

A man is presumed to the child’s natural father therefore granting him parental rights and a say in the adoption decision, if:

  • Obtain counseling
  • Petition the juvenile court providing the name of the Birth Parents, name of the child, ages of all parties, reason for choosing adoption for their child, a statement indicating if the child is an Indian child and the identity of the Indian child’s tribe if applicable
  • Submit a standardized affidavit of relinquishment counseling that includes:
    • He and the child’s Birth Mother are married when the child was born or the child was born within 300 days after the marriage was terminated
    • While the child is under the age of majority, he receives them into his home and openly claims them as his natural child
    • He acknowledges paternity on the child in writing filed with the court
    • Genetic test results show that the probability of his parentage in 97% or higher

Home study and Post Placement Requirements in Colorado

Prospective Adoptive Parents in Colorado are required to complete a home study before beginning the adoption process and a postplacement assessment after the adoption takes place. Both will assess your ability to provide a safe and stable environment for the child you wish to adopt.

What is a home study and what happens during the process?

The home study is a critical component to the adoption process. While it is to ensure your home will provide a child with stability, safety, and support, it is also a resource for Prospective Adoptive Parents to asks questions and prepare for the adoption. A home study is ultimately a recommendation as to the fitness of the applicants to become Adoptive Parents.

In Colorado, a home study will include:

  • The physical and mental health, emotional stability, and moral integrity of the adoption petitioners
  • The Prospective Parents ability to promote the child’s welfare
  • Criminal background checks for all Prospective Parents and adults living in the home
  • Suitability of the Prospective Parents to adopt
  • A check for reports of child abuse and neglect

In addition to the home study, a family assessment, including interviews with each family member, will take place regarding the following:

  • Marital relationship of the Prospective Parents
  • Social history and background
  • Personal characteristics of each family member
  • The reasons for choosing adoption
  • Extended family relationships
  • Parenting style and abilities
  • The Prospective Parents interest and preparedness to care for a child with special needs
  • Physical and social environment of the home, including cleanliness, safety, finances, support systems, and household pets
  • Adoption issues such as infertility, openness in adoption, and telling the child about the adoption

Who oversees a home study in Colorado and who is included in it?

A Colorado home study should be completed by the county department of social services or child-placing agency approved by the State Department of Human Services. All adults living in the home, including the adoption petitioners will be included in assessment.

Why would my home study not be approved in Colorado?

Approval of adoption may be withheld if a petitioner or any adult living in the Prospective Adoptive Home was convicted of a felony or misdemeanor in one of the following areas:

  • Child abuse or neglect
  • Domestic violence
  • Spousal abuse
  • Crime against a child, including pornography
  • Violation of a protection order
  • A crime involving violence, rape, sexual assault, or homicide
  • A felony physical assault or battery conviction in the past 5 years
  • A felony drug-related conviction in the past 5 years

Is a home study different for stepparent or relative adoptions in Colorado?

A home study will not be required for stepparent, kinship, or custodial adoptions in Colorado.

What are the home study requirements for adopting a child from another state?

All out-of-State adoption placements must comply with the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children.

What is a post placement requirement and what happens during the process?

Before the adoption has been finalized, post placement supervision will take place to ensure the transition into adoption is going well and that the Adoptive Family’s circumstances have not changed to no longer fit the child’s best interest.

In Colorado, the county department placing the child for adoption will be responsible for post placement supervision until the adoption is finalized.

What are the requirements for a Foster to Adopt placement in Colorado?

In Colorado, the assessment completed on a Foster Parent or Family to foster a child will also be accepted for adoption or a child.

Colorado Adoption Agencies and Professionals

Colorado is home to some amazing adoption professionals who are ready to get your journey started. Whether you are interested in adopting a child or seeking resources to place your child for adoption, these professionals will guide you through the legal pathways and offer you support throughout your journey:

Adoption Choices of Colorado(303) 670-4673

Adoption Options(303) 695-1601

A Family in Bloom(303) 516-9827

Hope’s Promise(303) 660-0277

Adoptions by Heart(720) 458-5858

Things to do in Colorado

If your adoption journey leads you to the Rocky Mountain State, you may decide to spend time exploring some of Colorado’s most popular spots:

Garden of the Gods in Colorado Springs

Colorado National Monument in Fruita

Trail Ridge Road in Rocky Mountain National Park

Mountain Village Gondola in Telluride

A Note from Adoption Network Law Center

No matter your decision, we appreciate the time you have taken to read about how to adopt in Colorado. Adoption Network Law Center wishes you the best of luck and is available to answer any further questions you may have about the adoption process. Call 1-866-602-9541 to speak with one of our amazing team members or visit to read more about our services. Whether you’re a soon-to-be Birth Parent or Prospective Adoptive Parent, ANLC wishes you the best on your adoption journey.

Available 24/7 to Answer Your Adoption Questions

We're here to help.

Get your Free Adoption Packet

Or call us at