Adoption Agencies, Information and Resources in Oregon

View Waiting Families

Start your research with this quick-reference, and confirm any updates with your local representation.
More in depth information is provided on our Adoption Laws By State page.

Our use of the terms “putting up” or “giving up” does not reflect how we feel about adoptive placement. These terms remain the most widely used search terms for those who are considering adoption for their baby, and we wish to reach all who seek this important information.

Adoption By City


How to Adopt in Oregon

Oregon isn’t just home to the famous Crater Lake; it’s also home to many families seeking adoption opportunities and resources to begin their journey. Whether you are looking to adopt, looking to place your child for adoption, or searching for information about home studies and where to begin the process, the following information will be your guide to all things adoption in Oregon.

What you need to know about adopting a baby in Oregon

To be eligible to adopt a child in Oregon, you must be at least 21 years old unless one of the following applies:

  • The child welfare agency has approved a relative adoption applicant who is at least 18 years old
  • The child is an Indian child and the adoptive applicant is a member of the child’s extended family, Tribe or another Indian family.

In addition to the age requirement, adoption eligibility will need you to meet the following requirements:

  • Complete an adoption home study that recommends you to become an Adoptive Parent
  • Provide evidence of completion of the required training program
  • Demonstrate the knowledge, skills and ability to care for the child’s:
    • Physical and emotional well-being
    • Integration into the family
    • Connections to their Birth Family
    • Stability and permanency
    • Social, educational, and developmental needs
    • Identity, culture, religion, and spiritual heritage

How much does it cost to adopt a baby in Oregon?

Expenses related to adoption in Oregon range widely depending on the type of adoption you decide to pursue. Are you looking to adopt internationally or domestically? Through a private agency or the foster care system? Depending on what you decide, Adoptive Parents may be asked to cover adoption-related expenses such as:

  • Legal fees
  • Medical expenses for the Birth Mother and child
  • Travel expenses related to the adoption
  • Agency fees

All expenses must be included in a written disclosure statement.

How do you become a Foster Parent in Oregon?

To become a Foster Parent in Oregon, you must be at least 21 years old, have sufficient income to care for the child, be physically able to care for the child, and pass a child abuse and criminal background check.

If you are interested in being a Foster Parent, click here to learn about the steps needed to complete the process.

Can you finalize an international adoption in Oregon?

Foreign adoption will be recognized in the State of Oregon if at least one of the Adoptive Parents is a United States Citizen and the adoption is proven to be valid in the foreign nation.

What is a facilitator and is it legal to use their services for adoption in Oregon?

An adoption facilitator specializes in matching prospective Adoptive Families with expectant mothers; however, they are usually unlicensed and unregulated.

In Oregon, it is illegal for any person or entity besides a licensed adoption agency to charge, accept or pay a fee with regard to facilitating an adoption.

Click here to read about the difference between adoption agencies, attorneys, and facilitators.

Who must consent to an adoption in Oregon?

In Oregon, consent to adoption must be given in writing by the following:

  • The parents of the child
  • The guardian of the child if the child has no living parent
  • The next of kin in the state of Oregon if the child has no living parent or guardian
  • A person appointed by court if the child has no living parent or guardian, and the next of kin is not qualified to give consent
  • The adoptee if they are at least 14 years old

When is consent not necessary for adoption in Oregon?

Consent to adoption in Oregon will not be needed from the parent if:

  • The parent has been deemed mentally ill or deficient
  • The parent is imprisoned under a sentence for a term of not less than 3 years and has actually served 3 years
  • The parent has purposefully deserted or neglected the child and failed to provide proper care for the child for 1 year immediately before filing a petition for adoption
  • The child’s Birth Mother was married at the time of the child’s conception and her husband is not the father of the child; in this case, the husband’s consent is not required

How and when can Birth Parents consent to adoption in Oregon?

In Oregon, consent to adoption must be done in writing in front of a court authorized person.

The Birth Parent consenting must also receive notice of their right to payment for 3 adoption-related counseling sessions before and after the adoption. This notice must be given in writing to the Birth Parent’s attorney or adoption agency.

Can a Birth Parent revoke their consent to adoption in Oregon?

A certificate of irrevocability by the person giving consent to adoption will be in effect after the following have been completed:

  • The child is placed for adoption with their new guardian
  • The person whose consent was needed has filed a petition for adoption in court
  • A home study has been filed and the court has approved the new Adoptive Parents
  • Information about the child’s social, medical, and genetic history has been provided
  • The person signing this certificate of irrevocability has been given an explanation of the consequences of this certificate

Consent may only be revoked if the court finds the signing of this document to be a result of fraud or duress.

This consent of irrevocability is not valid for a child who is subject to the Indian Child Welfare Act.

What rights do Birth Fathers have in the adoption process in Oregon?

In Oregon, a man is rebuttably considered the ‘Presumed Father’, therefore granting him parental rights of the child, if:

  • He and the Birth Mother were married at the time of the child’s birth
  • He and the Birth Mother were married to each other and the child was born within 300 days after the termination of their marriage

Paternity of a child may also be established by:

  • Being declared by other provision of law
  • A voluntary acknowledgment of paternity process with the State Registrar of the Center for Health Statistics
  • A voluntary acknowledgment of paternity process in another State
  • The marriage of the parents after the child is born, and the parents file a voluntary acknowledgment of paternity form with the State Registrar of the Center for Health Statistics

Home study and Post Placement Requirements in Oregon

Prospective Adoptive Parents in Oregon are required to complete a home study before beginning the adoption process and a postplacement assessment after the adoption takes place. Both will assess your ability to provide a safe and stable environment for the child you wish to adopt.

What is a home study and what happens during the process?

The home study is a critical component to the adoption process. While it is to ensure your home will provide a child with stability, safety, and support, it is also a resource for Prospective Adoptive Parents to asks questions and prepare for the adoption. A home study is ultimately a recommendation as to the fitness of the applicants to become Adoptive Parents.

In Oregon, the home study will require the adoption applicants to:

  • Provide four references, two of whom can be relatives, who can attest to their character and ability to care for the child
  • Allow the department to conduct a home safety assessment
  • Allow the department to meet and interview everyone currently living in their household
  • Provide social and family history
  • Complete and pass a criminal background check
  • Provide any information about current or past licenses for relative care, foster care, daycare or adoption

Each Prospective Parent and person 18 years or older living in the home must also provide:

  • Information about current or past criminal involvement, including arrests and convictions
  • Consent to a criminal background check
  • Consent to a child abuse and neglect background check
  • Information about any alleged child abuse

Who oversees a home study in Oregon and who is included in it?

The home study will be conducted by either the Department of Human Services or a licensed adoption agency. The Prospective Adoptive Parents and any person 18 years or older living in the household will be included in the study.

Why would my home study not be approved in Oregon?

In Oregon, approval of a home study may be withheld if the Prospective Adoptive Parents:

  • Cannot meet the home standards
  • License to provide services to children, the elderly or people with disabilities has been or is currently being denied, revoked, or suspended
  • Falsifies information during their home study
  • Has been convicted of a felony crime that involves:
    • Abuse or neglect of a child
    • Spousal abuse
    • Sodomy or sexual abuse
    • Violence, including rape, sexual assault, or homicide
    • Aiding, abetting, attempting, soliciting, or conspiring to cause the death of a child
    • A crime against a child, including child pornography
    • Other crimes listed in regulation, including:
      • Murder or manslaughter
      • Kidnapping
      • Rape, incest, sodomy or sexual abuse
      • Criminal nonsupport
      • Burglary or robbery if the crime involves violence
      • Child neglect or abandonment
      • Felony assault or a child or spouse
  • Physical assault or battery or a drug-related offense within 5 years of attempting to adopt

For more information, click here.

Is a home study different for stepparent or relative adoptions in Oregon?

The home study requirement may be waived by the department by request of the adoption petitioner who is a stepparent or relative of the child who they find qualified to parent the child.

What are the home study requirements for adopting a baby from another state?

Any home study of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children.

What is a post placement requirement and what happens during the process?

Before the adoption has been finalized, a post placement assessment will take place to ensure the transition into adoption is going well and that the Adoptive Family’s circumstances have not changed to no longer fit the child’s best interest.

In Oregon, a post placement assessment includes supervision and a written report of the agency’s recommendation to the court determining whether or not adoption finalization should be granted based on status and adjustment of the child and the Prospective Adoptive Parents. The supervision will entail the following:

  • Monthly face-to-face visits with the child
  • An assessment of the child’s safety and well-being
  • Providing support and services to assist the Prospective Parents in meeting the child’s needs

What are the requirements for a Foster to Adopt placement in Oregon?

A Foster Parent can request consideration in becoming the child’s Adoptive Parent if all of the following requirements are met:

  • Adoption is the child’s identified permanency plan, and the department determines it is in the child’s best interest
  • The child has been in the Foster Parents custody for 12 consecutive months
  • The Foster Parent is willing to be considered the Adoptive Parent for the child’s siblings in addition to the child
  • The caseworker has reviewed the Department’s diligent efforts to identify, contact and place the child with relatives and to place the siblings together
  • The caseworker has confirmed there are no pending Department actions to:
    • Identify a child’s relatives or a sibling’s current guardian, relative, current caregiver, or adoptive resource with whom the sibling is currently living
    • Assess a relative who has either expressed an interest in and needs to be or currently is being assessed as a permanency resource

Oregon Adoption Agencies and Professionals

Oregon is home to some amazing adoption professionals who are ready to get your journey started. Whether you are interested in adopting a child or seeking resources to place your child for adoption, these professionals will guide you through the legal pathways and offer you support throughout your journey:

Journeys of the Heart1-800-876-0575

Open Adoption and Family Services503-226-4870

Holt International Children’s541-687-2202

Things to do in Oregon

If your adoption journey leads you to the beautiful state of Oregon, visit some of its most treasured spots:

Colombia River Gorge National Scenic Area

Crater Lake National Park

Mount Hood and Timberline Lodge in the Cascade Mountain Range

Evergreen Aviation and Space Museum in McMinnville

Portland Japanese Garden

A note from Adoption Network Law Center

No matter your decision, we appreciate the time you have taken to read about how to adopt in Oregon. Adoption Network Law Center wishes you the best of luck and is available to answer any further questions you may have about the adoption process. Call 1-866-602-9541 to speak with one of our amazing team members or visit to read more about our services. Whether you’re a soon-to-be Birth Parent or Prospective Adoptive Parent, ANLC wishes you the best on your adoption journey.

Available 24/7 to Answer Your Adoption Questions

We're here to help.

Get your Free Adoption Packet

Or call us at