Christopher and Kathleen

Married Since: 2001

Pets: Yes

Stay at Home Parent: Part-Time

Other Adopted Children at Home: No

Other Biological Children at Home: No

We believe open adoption is the best choice for a child. That openness can help give you peace in your decision to place your child for adoption, knowing your child will be in a safe and loving home. We would love the opportunity for you to see your child grow and thrive…

Christopher and Kathleen

from Pennsylvania

Christopher

Ancestry: Polish, German

Religion: Christian

Occupation: Office Manager

Education: MSW

Hobbies: Gardening, Landscaping, Home Improvement, Traveling, Cooking, Outdoor activities

Kathleen

Ancestry: French, Canadian, German

Religion: Christian

Occupation: Ophthalmologist

Education: MD

Hobbies: Reading, Piano, Gardening, Landscaping

Baby

Preferred Ethnicity of Baby: African American, African American / Caucasian, African American / Hispanic, Asian, Caucasian / Asian, Asian / Hispanic, Caucasian, Caucasian / Hispanic, Caucasian / Indian, Caucasian / Middle Eastern, Caucasian / Native American, Caucasian / Pacific Islander, Hispanic / Native American, Hispanic / Pacific Islander, Pacific Islander, Native American Indian

Preferred Gender of Baby: Either

Religion Child To Be Raised: Christian

Photos

To Our Future Child’s Birthmother,

We believe open adoption is the best choice for a child. That openness can help give you peace in your decision to place your child for adoption, knowing your child will be in a safe and loving home. We would love the opportunity for you to see your child grow and thrive over time.

While we are happy and content in our marriage, we had always hoped our family would include children. After praying about it, we felt God’s plan for us included adoption. We are grateful that you have been led to read our letter, and we know that when the time is right, God will work it all out in the best way for each of us.

We met at church through mutual friends and first got to know each other at weekly meals with our friends before church. Chris: I was initially drawn to Kathy’s funky style. I liked that she was intelligent and independent, and I loved how compassionate and tender-hearted she is. We recently celebrated her parents’ 50th wedding anniversary. They saw Mary Poppins in the theater on their first date, so Kathy had the idea of making everyone in the family tee shirts that said “50 Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious Years.” Kathy: I was drawn to Chris’ sense of humor, his thoughtfulness and sensitivity, and the fact that he truly listened to people. He was one of the few guys that was not intimidated by me being a physician.

We are best friends and truly enjoy spending time with each other. When other couples are eager for a “girl’s trip” or “guy’s night out”, we prefer to be with each other. Both of us love being outdoors in the sun and fresh air and love going to the beach. We enjoy hiking, gardening, traveling different places and cooking together. We enjoy movies and munching on popcorn. We also enjoy similar types of music and going to concerts of all different kinds. Some of our favorites are Harry Connick Jr, Lauren Daigle and Switchfoot.

About Your Child’s Future Adoptive Dad Chris: I had a happy childhood. I was an only child. My parents encouraged me to try a lot of different activities in sports and music. We enjoyed family vacations to the beach, the Poconos, and Disney World. When Kathy took over her father’s medical practice in 2012, I became the Office Manager. I enjoy what I do, but most of all I enjoy working together with my wife, being able to have lunch together, and to see each other throughout the day. I enjoy exercising, hiking, going to the beach, working in the yard, photography, traveling and reading.

About Your Child’s Future Adoptive Mom Kathy: I have two sisters and a brother, and I had a very happy childhood. I remember spending my summers swimming and playing with my siblings, and I cherish fun memories of our family vacations to Disney World and Ocean City. My parents also took us camping, hiking and fishing. I have loved reading since childhood, and still do. I am now an Ophthalmologist and enjoy my job caring for patients. It has been wonderful getting to work with my husband and our office is only 2 miles from our home. I enjoy hiking, and I like to bake and try new recipes. I still love to read, enjoy gardening, love the beach, and love to play piano.

We are Evangelical Christians and attempt to pray and to read the Bible daily. Your child will be raised in the Christian faith, which teaches the importance of being kind, loving, and respectful of all people, regardless of race, religion or appearance.

We dream of sharing our life with a child, looking forward to things like playing outside and learning about nature, trips to museums and parks, playing with their cousins, fun road trips and travels. Since we like to go hiking, even in the snow, we will have a baby pack to carry your child along until they are big and strong enough to hike on their own. Every year since we got married, we have visited a local tree farm to cut down our own Christmas tree, and we are excited for your child to be a part of this family tradition. We envision going to the beach with your child, splashing in the water, collecting seashells and making sand castles. And our first trip to Disney World with a child, we wonder if we will be taking a little pirate or a princess?

We have flexibility since we have our own business, which allows us to be independent and make our own schedule. Our faith is the highest priority in our lives, and everything else flows from that each day. It is the foundation for our marriage and the mission behind our work. We will certainly teach our child to understand the basis of our faith, and hope that it will help shape his or her character and choices in life. We believe that a parent’s job is to give a child “roots and wings,” giving them a strong foundation and teaching them to be able to live their life well when they are grown. Also, it is our job to be sure that they know they are always loved, without fail. We would love to know the hopes and dreams your hold for your child. We will do our best to honor the choice that you make, and we will not take lightly the trust you place in us to love and raise your child.

With our love and prayers for you,
Kathy & Chris

Q&A

Describe your neighborhood.

While it feels very rural around us, we have quick access to lots of great things nearby, including parks, the Appalachian trail, museums, libraries, theaters, concert arenas, medical facilities, and even an amusement park. The elementary school (where Kathy attended) is less than half a mile from our house, and we are under a mile from Kathy's parents, who still live in the same home where she grew up. The neighborhood is safe and quiet. The neighbors tend to watch out for each other, many having been here for decades, and they have an annual 'block-party' at the start of summer.

When you have a 3-day weekend, what do you like to do?

A: If the season allows, we try to go to the beach or maybe camping with long-time church friends. Any time of year, we love to be outdoors as much as possible. If it is a snowy weekend, we may try to do a little cross-country skiing or sledding. A longer weekend also allows us to drive down to spend time with our 2 nieces and 2 nephews which brings us lots of joy! We enjoy cooking, so with more time on a weekend we may try some new special recipes that might take more time than a work-day would allow. We really enjoy being home together, so a favorite pastime is making popcorn or oatmeal chocolate chip cookies and enjoying a movie or good book in our cozy family room.

What do you hope to teach your children?

A: During the years our child will be living in our home,we hope to do our best to teach them how to live their life well when they are an adult out on their own. We want to teach gratitude rather than entitlement, compassion rather than judgement, kindness, generosity and unselfishness. We hope to teach them to explore their unique passions and talents, developing those throughout their lifetime. We hope above all to teach them to "Live a life filled with love, following the example of Christ" Eph 5:2.

What will you tell your child about his/her birthmother?

A: First and foremost that we are forever grateful she chose to give her child life and gave us an opportunity to love her child as parents. We will be honest and tell the truth. We will share as much of her story as she wishes, with whatever information we are provided. We will tell our child that his/her birthmother loved them with a sacrificial love, which is the greatest kind. We will tell them that she is still part of their family and they will always have that connection.

Do you have pets? If so, tell us about them

Yes, we have a lovable dog named Tonga, who is a miniature schnauzer. We regularly take walks and do many activities with Tonga!

Message Christopher and Kathleen

  • Date Format: MM slash DD slash YYYY

Contact Christopher and Kathleen

  • Date Format: MM slash DD slash YYYY

Contact Us

Get your Free Adoption Packet

  • Date Format: MM slash DD slash YYYY

We respect your privacy. View our Privacy Policy.

We respect your privacy. View our Privacy Policy.

Speak with a Specialist 1-800-367-2367