Start your research with this quick-reference, and confirm any updates with your local representation.
More in depth information is provided on our Adoption Laws By State page.
Our use of the terms “putting up” or “giving up” does not reflect how we feel about adoptive placement. These terms remain the most widely used search terms for those who are considering adoption for their baby, and we wish to reach all who seek this important information.
How to Adopt in Wyoming
Wyoming isn't just home to beautiful national parks like Yellowstone and Grand Teton; it's also home to many families seeking adoption opportunities and resources to begin their journey. Whether you are looking to adopt, looking to place your child for adoption, or searching for information about home studies and where to begin the process, the following information will be your guide to all things adoption in Wyoming.
What you need to know about adopting a baby in Wyoming
To get started on your adoption journey, it is important to understand some of the fundamental aspects and frequently asked question about the process Here are a few things to know when considering adoption in Wyoming.
What are the laws and requirements for adopting a baby in Wyoming?
To be eligible to adopt a child in Wyoming, you must be at least 18 years old and have been a resident of the state for 60 days immediately preceding your petition to adopt. The court must also declare you competent and you must pass the home study process.
How much does it cost to adopt a baby in Wyoming?
- Medical bills for the Birth Mother and child
- Prenatal care for the Birth Mother
- Attorney and agency fees
- Home study and postplacement study fees
How do you become a Foster Parent in Wyoming?
To become a Foster Parent in Wyoming, you must be at least 21 years old, financially stable, have a clear criminal and child abuse and neglect history. Both single and married people may apply to be a Foster Parent.
What you need to know about placing your baby for adoption in Wyoming
If you are considering placing your child for adoption, understanding how the adoption process works as well as knowing your rights may relieve some of your worry. Here are a few things to know when considering adoption for your child in Wyoming.
Who must consent to an adoption in Wyoming?
- Both parents, if they’re living
- The surviving parent
- The child’s legal guardian if their parents have died, had their parental rights terminated or been declared mentally incompetent
- The Birth Mother and Putative Father of the child if the name of the Putative Father is known
- The Birth Mother alone if she does not know the name of the Putative Father, in which case she shall sign and file an affidavit so stating, and the court shall determine whether the Putative Father has registered and, if so, shall require notice to be given to the Putative Father
- The child if they are 14 years or older
When is consent not necessary for adoption in Wyoming?
- The Putative Father if he has not registered with the Wyoming Putative Father Registry
- The Putative Father if he is unknown
The Birth Parents or Putative Father if the court finds they have:
- Been given notice of an adoption hearing and failed to appear or respond
- Willfully abandoned the child
- Had their parental rights terminated for any reason
- Willfully failed to support the child for at least 1 year immediately prior to the filing of the petition to adopt and has failed to bring the support obligation current within 60 days after service of the petition to adopt
- Caused the conception of the child as a result of incest or sexual assault and have been convicted
- Been found guilty of abuse, neglect, cruelty, or mistreatment of the child
- Willfully allowed the child to be in the care of a public or private institution or by the Department of Family Services for 1 year immediately prior to the filing of the petition without contributing to the support of the child
- Failed to respond stating his interest in declaring responsibility for the child after 30 days of receiving notice of the birth of the child
- Willfully failed to pay a total dollar amount of at least 70 percent of the court-ordered support for a period of 2 years or more and has failed to bring the support obligation 100 percent current within 60 days after service of the petition to adopt
How and when can Birth Parents consent to adoption in Wyoming?
- A person authorized to take acknowledgements
- A representative of the Department of Family Services
- A representative of a certified agency to whom the custody of the child is being relinquished for adoption
Can a Birth Parent revoke their consent to adoption in Wyoming?
Consent to adoption is irrevocable once given unless the court determines it was given under fraud or duress. The consent given by a parent who is a minor is valid and may not be revoked solely because of minority.
What rights do Birth Fathers have in the adoption process in Wyoming?
A ‘parent’ is the child’s Father or Mother whose parental rights have not been terminated.
A ‘Putative Father’ is the alleged or reputed Father of a child born out of wedlock, whether or not the paternity rights and obligations of the father have been judicially determined.
- He is known and identified by the Birth Mother or agency
- He has lived with or married the Birth Mother after the child’s birth and before the petition for adoption
- He acknowledged his paternity of the child or registered as a putative father before the court hearing for the adoption proceeding
A Putative Father Registry has been established in Wyoming to protect men who believe they may have fathered a child and want to claim responsibility and care for that child.
Home study and Post Placement Requirements in Wyoming
Prospective Adoptive Parents in Wyoming are required to complete a home study before beginning the adoption process and a postplacement assessment after the adoption takes place. Both will assess your ability to provide a safe and stable environment for the child you wish to adopt.
What is a home study and what happens during the process?
A home study is a critical component to the adoption process. While it is to ensure your home will provide a child with stability, safety, and support, it is also a resource for Prospective Adoptive Parents to asks questions and prepare for the adoption. A home study is ultimately a recommendation as to the fitness of the applicants to become Adoptive Parents.
- Name, age, sex, race and nationality
- Level of education and employment history
- Proof of income
- List of any other individuals living in the home
- Record of any current or previous psychiatric disorders
- Any and all felony convictions from the past 10 years
- Any and all misdemeanor convictions from the past 5 years
- Their current parole or probation status
- Names and addresses of 5 references who they’ve known for at least 2 years
- A physical examination to include fertility and infertility studies
- The reason for choosing adoption and the type of children they are interested in adopting
- An autobiography
- Criminal background and ventral registry checks
After the assessment, interviews will take place to further determine the suitability of the Prospective Parents.
Who oversees a home study in Wyoming and who is included in it?
The Department of Family Services or a licensed child-placing agency will conduct a home study that will include the Prospective Adoptive Parents.
Why would my home study not be approved in Wyoming?
Home study approval in Wyoming may be withheld if, for any reason, the court finds the adoption to not be in the child’s best interest or welfare.
For more information and reasons for potential disapproval, click here.
What are the home study requirements for adopting a baby from another state?
Any out-of-home placement of a child outside the State is subject to the provisions of the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children.
Wyoming Adoption Agencies and Professionals
Wyoming is home to some amazing adoption professionals who are ready to get your journey started. Whether you are interested in adopting a child or seeking resources to place your child for adoption, these professionals will guide you through the legal pathways and offer you support throughout your journey:Connecting Hearts Inc.
307-279-3434Bethany Christian Services
307-214-3051The Adoption Exchange
Things to do in Wyoming
If the adoption process brings you to Wyoming, visit some of the States most beautiful landscapes and scenery:
Grand Canyon of the Yellowstone in Yellowstone National Park
Lower River Falls in Yellowstone National Park
Upper Geyser Basin in Yellowstone National Park
A Note from Adoption Network Law Center
No matter your decision, we appreciate the time you have taken to read about how to adopt in Wyoming. Adoption Network Law Center wishes you the best of luck and is available to answer any further questions you may have about the adoption process. Call 1-866-602-9541 to speak with one of our amazing team members or visit https://adoptionnetwork.com/ to read more about our services. Whether you’re a soon-to-be Birth Parent or Prospective Adoptive Parent, ANLC wishes you the best on your adoption journey.